Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,495,937

members

57

online now

1,702,663

discussions

2 Routers, 1 Modem

Posted by
Visitor
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎09-16-2012
Posts: 1
Message 1 of 6 (2,000 Views)

2 Routers, 1 Modem

Will Comcast allow 2 routers off of a single modem? If so, is a switch required?

5 REPLIES
Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 51,660
Message 2 of 6 (1,997 Views)

Re: 2 Routers, 1 Modem

Only if you had more than one residential IP from them. If you need more ports for your LAN devices then just connect the switch to one of the LAN ports on one of the routers and use it as an extender.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Problem Solver
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.
  • Great Job! Your reply has been accepted. Thank you for helping and Congrats on your 1st Solution.

Member Since: ‎10-28-2006
Posts: 470
Message 3 of 6 (1,990 Views)

Re: 2 Routers, 1 Modem

What are you trying to accomplish?

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎09-16-2012
Posts: 3
Message 4 of 6 (1,962 Views)

Re: 2 Routers, 1 Modem

I just got comcast installed, their modem had a built in wireless router and I was able to connect it to my existing wireless router and 5 port switch.  It all worked fine.  I decided to pull my linksys wireless router out since I didnt really need it since the modem with the built in router had 4 ports.  But I was able to use my wireless router, and a 5 port switch with comcasts modem with built in router.

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎09-16-2012
Posts: 3
Message 5 of 6 (1,961 Views)

Re: 2 Routers, 1 Modem

just to clarify, the 5 port switch was not required to use both routers.  We got both the modem set up first, then added my router and verified connection via that and them added the 5 port switch and everything worked fine.

Posted by
Edited on
‎09-17-2012 12:07 AM

Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 51,660
Message 6 of 6 (1,959 Views)

Re: 2 Routers, 1 Modem

[ Edited ]

Two routers may have worked, but the double NAT condition it introduced by cascading two routing devices is never desireable...

 

Seems that the "modem" and the combo modem / router gateway device terms are being used interchangeably and they should not be...




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program