Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,380,623

members

82

online now

1,611,758

discussions

x1 vs x2

SOLVED
Posted by
Regular Contributor
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.
  • Great Job! Your reply has been accepted. Thank you for helping and Congrats on your 1st Solution.

Member Since: ‎11-10-2011
Posts: 32
Message 1 of 13 (5,629 Views)

x1 vs x2

Hi all,

I'm having the x1 platform installed later on this month..

Now I'm reading on the "net" about the x2 platform from comcast.

My question is, will the x1  software automatically upgrade to the x2 platform?

Or do I have to get all new hardware?

Should I cancel the x1 platform and wait for the x2.

Thanks

Tom

 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
Posted by
Official Employee

Member Since: ‎10-04-2008
Posts: 7,659
Message 2 of 13 (5,677 Views)

Re: x1 vs x2

Go for the x1
12 REPLIES
Posted by
Official Employee

Member Since: ‎10-04-2008
Posts: 7,659
Message 2 of 13 (5,678 Views)

Re: x1 vs x2

Go for the x1
Posted by
Official Employee

Member Since: ‎01-09-2012
Posts: 11,962
Message 3 of 13 (5,592 Views)

Re: x1 vs x2


tstp52 wrote:

Hi all,

I'm having the x1 platform installed later on this month..

Now I'm reading on the "net" about the x2 platform from comcast.

My question is, will the x1  software automatically upgrade to the x2 platform?

Or do I have to get all new hardware?

Should I cancel the x1 platform and wait for the x2.

Thanks

Tom

 


The X2 interface will be downloaded to X1 platform cable boxes automatically when X2 is available in your area. If you have X1, you will get X2.

X2 is the next iteration of the current X1 platform.

Posted by
Regular Contributor
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.
  • Great Job! Your reply has been accepted. Thank you for helping and Congrats on your 1st Solution.

Member Since: ‎11-10-2011
Posts: 32
Message 4 of 13 (5,552 Views)

Re: x1 vs x2

thank you

Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • Great Job! Your reply has been accepted. Thank you for helping and Congrats on your 1st Solution.

Member Since: ‎11-03-2009
Posts: 19
Message 5 of 13 (5,364 Views)

Re: x1 vs x2

What do you mean downloaded? The X1 DVR has a hard drive, The X2 DVR is cloud based. That would mean swapping out boxes.

Posted by
Official Employee

Member Since: ‎10-04-2008
Posts: 7,659
Message 6 of 13 (5,344 Views)

Re: x1 vs x2

X1 is cloud based too there is no hard drive,
Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎08-27-2013
Posts: 3
Message 7 of 13 (5,309 Views)

Re: x1 vs x2

The X1 is cloud based, but there is a HDD for the storeage of your recordings. From what i've read and seen in videos the X1 will upgrade to the X2 user interface and will store your recordings online/cloud, so if you ever have a box failure and have to switch it out you will not loose your recordings. 

Posted by
Official Employee

Member Since: ‎10-04-2008
Posts: 7,659
Message 8 of 13 (5,292 Views)

Re: x1 vs x2

With the x1 you dont lose recordings when you swap it out, recordings are stored in cloud
Posted by
Bronze Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎01-20-2009
Posts: 2,606
Message 9 of 13 (5,211 Views)

Re: x1 vs x2


andrew.lindsay wrote:
With the x1 you dont lose recordings when you swap it out, recordings are stored in cloud

The X1 recordings are stored on the 500g internal HD - the interface and menus are cloud-based.  The next step will be to store recordings on the cloud servers but that hasn't happened yet.

Posted by
Edited on
‎09-06-2013 12:39 PM

Official Employee

Member Since: ‎01-09-2012
Posts: 11,962
Message 10 of 13 (5,023 Views)

Re: x1 vs x2

[ Edited ]

CoolHandDude wrote:

What do you mean downloaded? The X1 DVR has a hard drive, The X2 DVR is cloud based. That would mean swapping out boxes.


No swapping of boxes will be required. The update and new functionality included with the subsequent versions of X1 will occur automatically to current X1 boxes. You will hear more about that as we get closer to that happening.  

Posted by
Regular Contributor
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.
  • On your way! Congrats on Posting 10 topics!

Member Since: ‎03-07-2012
Posts: 84
Message 11 of 13 (4,950 Views)

Re: x1 vs x2

And when do you think it will happen? I heard a rumor it's supposed to happen before the end of this year, but I find that difficult to believe. Is it currently available anywhere?

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎10-01-2013
Posts: 2
Message 12 of 13 (4,254 Views)

Re: x1 vs x2

not true at all, had it installed last week and in 2 days it was messed up.. today they swapped it out and i lost all recordings plus i had to go thru and hit record on shows i already had done earlier.. x1 is not wat they are making it out to be..

Posted by
Regular Contributor
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎12-26-2007
Posts: 79
Message 13 of 13 (4,244 Views)

Re: x1 vs x2

From what I read a while back, the X1 is what they call a tier system.  Nothing new at all and similar ideas have been used for file storage for years.

 

I don't know what algorithm is used to determine tier 1 or 2, but tier 1 would be stored on your local hard drive, what you would access most quickly so newer recordings or recently accessed recordings.  Tier2 would be stored in the cloud, older or "not accessed for a while" programs. That is why when you go to watch some programs they seem to take a minute or 2 to start up, it's copying the file down to the hard drive for viewing, and if necessary copying something else up to the cloud to make room.

 

For X1 you are supposed to have a terrabyte of space.  If you look at your physical specs, you have 500 gig hard drive, the rest is in the cloud.

 

Being in the cloud doesn't currently mean you keep your recordings.  That is a determined by how the software works and in X1 it must be tied to the box, you will loose all recording regardless of where they are.

 

This may also be why, during high traffic times like Mondays and Tuesdays in the fall, shows you are recording don't appear on your system, but later after a reboot suddenly they show up, or during the night some time (they automatically reboot every night around 4 AM, or mine does anyways). They were being recorded in the cloud but because of traffic your system didn't know it. Of course you can't count on this.  Just as often it isn't recording what it should be recording period and you never get it.

 

-->