Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,382,236

members

50

online now

1,613,121

discussions

missing channels with built in digital tuner

SOLVED
Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎01-12-2011
Posts: 3
Message 1 of 6 (1,424 Views)

missing channels with built in digital tuner

since this week's transition, i can't get channels (like msnbc for example) even though i have a digital tuner in the Vizio tv.should I still need a converter box?
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎12-31-2004
Posts: 10,676
Message 5 of 6 (1,419 Views)

Re: missing channels with built in digital tuner

You can get a splitter so that you can still use your TV HD tuner for the local channels.

5 REPLIES
Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎12-31-2004
Posts: 10,676
Message 2 of 6 (1,421 Views)

Re: missing channels with built in digital tuner

You should be able to get at least two free DTAs from Comcast.

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎01-12-2011
Posts: 3
Message 3 of 6 (1,418 Views)

Re: missing channels with built in digital tuner

i was getting HD signals on most channels before. The DTAs are not HD.
Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎06-30-2003
Posts: 7,155
Message 4 of 6 (1,417 Views)

Re: missing channels with built in digital tuner

Yes you will still need a dta box to get back all the channels you lost

 

for now rescan your TV

 some station had two channels a analog and digital one

 

BTW the dta will be free ,no charge per month and in most cases you will get a digital box free as well.

Need to call or visit office for details

 

Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎12-31-2004
Posts: 10,676
Message 5 of 6 (1,420 Views)

Re: missing channels with built in digital tuner

You can get a splitter so that you can still use your TV HD tuner for the local channels.

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎01-12-2011
Posts: 3
Message 6 of 6 (1,407 Views)

Re: missing channels with built in digital tuner

I knew that. That was my last resort though.

 

Thanks for the quick help!

-->