Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
You can contribute an answer or post a question.
Reply
Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎05-29-2008
Posts: 3

changing channel by it self

tv changes channels by it self I even removed the batteries from remote and it still kept changing channels every couple of minutes what is going on this happen on only one tv out of 5 in the house?

Posted by
Cable Expert
Member Since: ‎12-31-2004
Posts: 10,676

Re: changing channel by it self

Is it the TV or a cable box that is changing channels?
Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎05-29-2008
Posts: 3

Re: changing channel by it self

cable box it stop for a while and started again it just changes to a ramdon channel not one up or down from the one we are watching I looked out front of my home I thought someone was screwing with us

Posted by
Cable Expert
Member Since: ‎12-31-2004
Posts: 10,676

Re: changing channel by it self

Sometimes you can clear up problems such as this by unplugging the box's power for a moment, then plugging it back in. You will temporarily lose program guide data, but it will be replenished over a few hours.

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎05-29-2008
Posts: 3

Re: changing channel by it self

Thanks I will give it a try, your help is apprericated, we thought we were going crazy

Posted by
Recognized Contributor
Member Since: ‎07-03-2003
Posts: 876

Re: changing channel by it self

If WE's suggestion doesn't do the trick, one other possibility to consider is stray IR radiation generated by aging compact fluorescent lamps.  I've experienced wacky behavior as a result of this in the past.

Advanced
You must be signed in to add attachments