Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,467,450

members

40

online now

1,692,263

discussions

cable box in every room?????

Posted by
Visitor
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎11-14-2009
Posts: 1
Message 3 of 3 (2,383 Views)

cable box in every room?????

1.  Do I need cable box in every room to watch TV?

2.  What is the cable box is for?

2 REPLIES
Posted by
Edited on
‎11-14-2009 06:40 PM

Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎09-17-2008
Posts: 586
Message 1 of 3 (2,373 Views)

Re: cable box in every room?????

[ Edited ]

snubber wrote:

1.  Do I need cable box in every room to watch TV?

2.  What is the cable box is for?


 

 

Depends.  If you have a digital tv, you can connect to the cable directly and receive local channels (usually channels 2-30) without a box.  Higher channels will require a box to receive them.  If you live in an area with good over the air reception, you can also use an antenna to receive local channels.

 

Comcast is moving channels from analog to digital so higher channels will not be accessible with a box.  You can enter in your account number here to see what you'll need to continue receiving the channels in your package.  There are FAQs here about this.

 

Message Edited by omcleod on 11-14-2009 06:40 PM
Posted by
Email Expert

Member Since: ‎04-27-2004
Posts: 18,242
Message 2 of 3 (2,374 Views)

Re: cable box in every room?????

If your area has been converted to digital, you'll need a cable box or DTA on every analog TV. Digital TVs may not need a box, but might need a CableCard to decode Extended Basic channels. You need a cable box on any TV's that you want to be able to view channels in the Digital tiers on (including premium channels like HBO and Showtime).