Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,439,635

members

19

online now

1,667,689

discussions

Using Comcast Remote to Select Input Source (DVR, TV, Blu-Ray)

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎01-03-2011
Posts: 8
Message 14 of 14 (6,378 Views)

Using Comcast Remote to Select Input Source (DVR, TV, Blu-Ray)

I recently attached blu-ray player to my LCD, and programmed the comcast remote for both by LCD and blu-ray player.  Whenever I turn on the system, it always defaults to the blue-ray player, even when it is powered off.  How do I get the Comcast remote to change input source from the blu-ray player to the LCD?

13 REPLIES
Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎03-02-2007
Posts: 17,040
Message 1 of 14 (6,327 Views)

Re: Using Comcast Remote to Select Input Source (DVR, TV, Blu-Ray)

Go ahead and give it a try with it off, you shouldn't see any major problems.  You can always turn it back on.

 

If you want to exchange it, check the manual of the new one before you invest.

 

Any more questions, please post back.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎01-03-2011
Posts: 8
Message 2 of 14 (6,330 Views)

Re: Using Comcast Remote to Select Input Source (DVR, TV, Blu-Ray)

Any potential problems we might run into when we remove CEC from the Samsung TV?  Since the LG blu-ray is new, would it be preferable to exchange it for another manufacturer's blu-ray - e.g., Samsung so it would be the same as the TV?

Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎03-02-2007
Posts: 17,040
Message 3 of 14 (6,333 Views)

Re: Using Comcast Remote to Select Input Source (DVR, TV, Blu-Ray)

No, the Blu-Ray must use HDMI for playing back in 1080P, that is mandatory for the best picture, and possibly HDCP issues down the road.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎01-03-2011
Posts: 8
Message 4 of 14 (6,336 Views)

Re: Using Comcast Remote to Select Input Source (DVR, TV, Blu-Ray)

Would an alternative be to replace the HDMI cable on the blu-ray with standard A/V connectors?

Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎03-02-2007
Posts: 17,040
Message 5 of 14 (6,343 Views)

Re: Using Comcast Remote to Select Input Source (DVR, TV, Blu-Ray)

The LG Blu-Ray doesn't seem to have a menu item to turn off the Simplink which is what LG calls their CEC funtion.

 

The TV can have the CEC turned off which is on page 38 of the manual, Samsung calls CEC control Anynet.

 

 

Here's a link to remote codes for your specific Comcast remote, since there are about 5 different versions.  http://www.urcsupport.com/index.php?mso_id=65

 

 

There are some of issues getting many Blu-Ray players working on the Comcast Universal remote, you might or might not find a code that works.

 

More questions please ask.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎01-03-2011
Posts: 8
Message 6 of 14 (6,344 Views)

Re: Using Comcast Remote to Select Input Source (DVR, TV, Blu-Ray)

Oops - the TV is LCD, not LED.  My mistake.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎01-03-2011
Posts: 8
Message 7 of 14 (6,352 Views)

Re: Using Comcast Remote to Select Input Source (DVR, TV, Blu-Ray)

Samsung LN40C630 LED TV.  Will this solution also allow me to program the Comcast remote for both the Samsung TV and LG Blu-Ray?  If we play a disk on the blu-ray, will we be able to use the Comcast remote to get back to the TV?  I appreciate your evident knowledge and experience . . . it's great to talk with someone who knows what they are talking about.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎01-03-2011
Posts: 8
Message 8 of 14 (6,358 Views)

Re: Using Comcast Remote to Select Input Source (DVR, TV, Blu-Ray)

LG BD550 blu-ray

Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎03-02-2007
Posts: 17,040
Message 9 of 14 (6,362 Views)

Re: Using Comcast Remote to Select Input Source (DVR, TV, Blu-Ray)

Please post the models and I'll look at the manuals.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎01-03-2011
Posts: 8
Message 10 of 14 (6,364 Views)

Re: Using Comcast Remote to Select Input Source (DVR, TV, Blu-Ray)

We have Samsung LED and LG blu-ray.  Do you know the specifics of how to make the changes you suggest?  Thank you.

Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎03-02-2007
Posts: 17,040
Message 11 of 14 (6,366 Views)

Re: Using Comcast Remote to Select Input Source (DVR, TV, Blu-Ray)

You want to turn off the CEC feature on the Blu-Ray, which is a "feature".  The CEC talks between HDMI devices and passes commands back and forth including input settings, on/off among others.

 

The CEC has different names by different Mfr's.  As an example Sony calls theirs Bravia Sync.  On a typical Sony Blu-Ray you would go into the menu and turn off "control for HDMI" so the TV and Blu-Ray no longer "talk" to each other's control systems.

 

Once this is off, turning on the TV will no longer turn on the Blu-Ray and select the input on the TV for the Blu-Ray.  The TV should stay on it's last input selected.

 

 

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎01-03-2011
Posts: 8
Message 12 of 14 (6,370 Views)

Re: Using Comcast Remote to Select Input Source (DVR, TV, Blu-Ray)

Yes

Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎03-02-2007
Posts: 17,040
Message 13 of 14 (6,372 Views)

Re: Using Comcast Remote to Select Input Source (DVR, TV, Blu-Ray)

The the TV default to the Blu-Ray input when you turn on the TV with the TV's remote?  Even if you have the TV prevously on the input for the set top box.