Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,431,158

members

23

online now

1,659,370

discussions

Picture size too big

SOLVED
Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎11-11-2007
Posts: 4
Message 8 of 8 (11,079 Views)

Picture size too big

We just installed the HD/DVR box where we have a flat screen tv.   The picture is ok, but too big for the screen.  I have tried to adjust by pressing Guide/Menu while cable box is off.  I can see the options, but only get 1080 as an option on size.  Please advise so we can see the entire picture.....everyone's heads are cut off and on sports we cannot even see the scores.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎03-02-2007
Posts: 17,031
Message 5 of 8 (11,920 Views)

Re: Picture size too big

You should leave it on normal, and then make sure you are tuning into High Def channels.  On many SD channels, and depending on the channel and programming, you will get bars all around the screen, as nothing is standard anymore.  The push is for more 16:9 programming being send down both SD and HD channels, and on a SD channels,  that will cause bars on all sides.

 

You should attempt to make sure you are tuning into HD channels at all times, and not the SD version.

7 REPLIES
Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎07-11-2013
Posts: 2
Message 1 of 8 (6,337 Views)

Re: Picture size too big

I have this problem, but I don't have a Comcast remote?  I have a Motorolla DCT3412 I DVR / Cablebox. I can't find any option to turn it off in any of the menus.  Is there a workaround?

Posted by
Silver Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎10-18-2008
Posts: 6,244
Message 2 of 8 (8,260 Views)

Re: Picture size too big

Use the remote that came with your TV, not the Comcast remote. Try the different options that are in your TV menu.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎10-10-2012
Posts: 1
Message 3 of 8 (8,272 Views)

Re: Picture size too big

How do I adjust the picture size on my TV with the clicker.  I do have a HD TV and do use the HD channels but every time I try to make the picture smaller, it still stays too large for the screen.

thank you

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎11-11-2007
Posts: 4
Message 4 of 8 (11,069 Views)

Re: Picture size too big

Thank you so much, seems to make a difference already.  So glad I posted here.

Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎03-02-2007
Posts: 17,031
Message 5 of 8 (11,921 Views)

Re: Picture size too big

You should leave it on normal, and then make sure you are tuning into High Def channels.  On many SD channels, and depending on the channel and programming, you will get bars all around the screen, as nothing is standard anymore.  The push is for more 16:9 programming being send down both SD and HD channels, and on a SD channels,  that will cause bars on all sides.

 

You should attempt to make sure you are tuning into HD channels at all times, and not the SD version.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎11-11-2007
Posts: 4
Message 6 of 8 (11,074 Views)

Re: Picture size too big

Thanks for the reply, I did that.  All other options, wide, stretch and normal, leave a black frame around the picture.  Why can't we see the whole picture without a frame--have it fit the screen?  We never had this issue before getting the box.

Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎03-02-2007
Posts: 17,031
Message 7 of 8 (11,076 Views)

Re: Picture size too big

First, check the zoom button or somthing similar on the TV's remote to try and resize your screen.