Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,385,705

members

65

online now

1,616,210

discussions

Picture in Picture Buttons on Remote

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎11-01-2012
Posts: 4
Message 1 of 6 (11,347 Views)

Picture in Picture Buttons on Remote

Is anyone able to use these?  I have a Samsung TV with PIP capability, but none of the remote codes will get it to work.  Or is this just for DVR's or newer cable boxes?

5 REPLIES
Posted by
Silver Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎10-18-2008
Posts: 5,937
Message 2 of 6 (11,333 Views)

Re: Picture in Picture Buttons on Remote

To use your TV'S PIP capability you will need to hook it up to two video sources. It is not a function of the comcast cable box.

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎11-01-2012
Posts: 4
Message 3 of 6 (11,303 Views)

Re: Picture in Picture Buttons on Remote

OK  TV is set up for cable for main picture and TV off air for sub picture.  All works OK when I use TV remote, but does not respond to comcast remote when set to TV function..  I just wondered whether anyone has gotten the comcast remote to work the PIP

Posted by
Silver Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎10-18-2008
Posts: 5,937
Message 4 of 6 (11,281 Views)

Re: Picture in Picture Buttons on Remote

Posted by
Gold Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎12-03-2007
Posts: 10,766
Message 5 of 6 (11,264 Views)

Re: Picture in Picture Buttons on Remote


coogee wrote: ... All works OK when I use TV remote, but does not respond to comcast remote when set to TV function. ...

The PIP button on the Comcast remote was for use with dual-tuner DVRs in areas that used Scientific Atlanta equipment. Chances a slim you will be able to use that button to control PIP on your TV, and Comcast has discontinued support for PIP in its equipment. See http://blog.comcast.com/2010/05/new-guide-for-scientific-atlanta-cable-boxes.html#comment-49026, comment by Ted Hodgins on May 24, 2012 at 1:41 PM.

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎11-01-2012
Posts: 4
Message 6 of 6 (11,252 Views)

Re: Picture in Picture Buttons on Remote

Thanks, Bruce.  That answers my question.  And yes, Barbie, I did try all the codes in the online user guide, which were more than the codes in the instructions that came with the Comcast remote.  Thanks to both of you for replying.

-->