Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,429,529

members

17

online now

1,657,718

discussions

No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter after transition last week

SOLVED
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
64 REPLIES
Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎12-25-2008
Posts: 1
Message 1 of 65 (1,113 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter after transit

Great news! Someone tell the techs at comcast - I wasted 20 minutes last night and got no resolution. Just lots of "unplug/plug in" and "I'm sending a signal to your tv now"
Posted by
Regular Visitor
Member Since: ‎05-03-2011
Posts: 17
Message 2 of 65 (1,143 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter after transit

One of the Best solutions I have seen posted on this forum.
Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎03-07-2013
Posts: 1
Message 3 of 65 (1,153 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter after transit

I did the same thing.  I must have hit the "lang" button.  After reading your experience, I hit the "lang" button again, and it fixed the problem.  Thanks for your experience.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎02-06-2013
Posts: 1
Message 4 of 65 (1,229 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter after transit

It HAS helped me and it IS two years + later.  Thanks so much for this post.  Like one post, we were about to replace our TV thinking it was too old.  It was driving me nuts.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎08-25-2008
Posts: 1
Message 5 of 65 (1,267 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter after transit

Lang button solved the problem! My neighbor's TV was set to spanish which played english audio for most but not all channels. Conspicuously, the channels without audio played English during the commercials but not during normal programming. 

Thanks!!!

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎03-27-2010
Posts: 3
Message 6 of 65 (1,338 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter after transit

You rock. I was just about ready to take two in but thought I would check the internet.  Thanks for telling us how to do such a simple fix. Makes you think how many have been charged for the service guy to come out.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎01-04-2013
Posts: 1
Message 7 of 65 (1,407 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter after transit

thanks for the suggestion about the "Lang" button. I pressed it and Voila! Sound! I had been DAYS without audio on Ch 4, called Customer Service, sounded like the rep was in India or somewhere, he promised to send out a tech... I should have looked in this Forum first, the answer was right here... so easy! Thank you! 

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎01-01-2013
Posts: 1
Message 8 of 65 (1,427 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter after transit

Press Language button. So easy.Thank You!

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎12-01-2012
Posts: 1
Message 9 of 65 (1,552 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter after transit

Thanj you!
Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎11-09-2012
Posts: 1
Message 10 of 65 (1,635 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter aft

Hey Thanks, pushing the LANG button worked for me.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎11-07-2012
Posts: 1
Message 11 of 65 (1,661 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter after transit

Thanks Comcast!!!

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎04-05-2008
Posts: 1
Message 12 of 65 (1,823 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter after transit

Thank you so much. This is August of 2012 but your solution kept me from buying a new TV. Cannot believe a simple thing like this was the answer.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎07-06-2010
Posts: 1
Message 13 of 65 (1,899 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter after transit

Thank you SO MUCH. This was driving me nuts. One has to wonder why such a button would be so prominently necessary on the remote. Do people switch languages so often that they can't dig into the menu to do that? Anyway, thanks again!

Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎03-02-2007
Posts: 17,031
Message 14 of 65 (1,904 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter after transit

If it keeps up, take the DTA and remote to the local Comcast office for a swap to a different box.

Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎04-23-2009
Posts: 18
Message 15 of 65 (1,911 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter after transit

Here's a new twist.  I was so happy to find this thread, ran to the kitchen, HIT THE LANG button and "ENG" for "english" gave me Matt Lauer's voice again - for 3 seconds. Without pushing any buttons, "ENG" only stayed on for 3 seconds and FLIPPED back to "SPA" all by itself! This happened 20 times before I finally just got lucky and got it to stick.  I warned my wife - NEVER PUSH THE LANG BUTTON!! 

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎08-01-2012
Posts: 1
Message 16 of 65 (67,360 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter after transit

The Lang button did it for me too! So glad I came accross this posting.  For the longest I thought there was yet another deficit in Comcasts service, but not this time!

 

 

Thanks so much! Now I can watch my shows Smiley Happy 

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎07-31-2012
Posts: 1
Message 17 of 65 (67,450 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter after transit

Many thanks for posting the 'Lang' solution!!!   I unknowingly must have hit the 'Lang' button while programming the remote for my TV.  Thanks!

 

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎02-02-2011
Posts: 6
Message 18 of 65 (67,823 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter after transit

Thanks!  I feel like a Bleep too! The Lang Button; LOL!  Good thing I didn't waste too much time before finding this post.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎07-19-2012
Posts: 2
Message 19 of 65 (68,159 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter after transit

Thank you SO MUCH for posting this! I've had no sound on half of my channels on the bedroom tv since Saturday. I was about to call today till I found this post. Indeed it was the language button! (The clincher was that I heard one local commercial this morning but none of the network ones).

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎05-30-2012
Posts: 2
Message 20 of 65 (68,217 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter after transit

Thanks so much! The LANG button worked for me!

Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎03-02-2007
Posts: 17,031
Message 21 of 65 (68,268 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter after transit

We have found that no one looks at the stickies unless we point them to the link.  It's easier to search on google and it will come right to one of the many posts on the "lang" button.

Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎07-10-2010
Posts: 9
Message 22 of 65 (68,287 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter after transit

Another Lang button victim saved. Thought I needed a new TV. Thanks!

 

This post should be stickied and the solution plastered on all the Help pages. 

Posted by
Silver Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎01-11-2010
Posts: 5,612
Message 23 of 65 (71,194 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter after transit

 Why did they even put such a button in such a easy place to mistakenly press.


Just for the record. The button getting mistakenly pushed does not have to happen to lose sound with the DTAs. They may get a signal error or coding error that causes this also.

I know, had it happen to me. Watching a program, in the middle it lost sound, thought it might be the station so I waited to see if it comes back. Other channels were fine. Pushed the LANG button after a few minutes sound came back on.

Did I push the button my accident. NO. The remote was lying flat on a table, not in my hands, with nothing around it to fall on the button by accident either.

Just so people know it can happen without anyone; young kids or adults; pressing the button.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎05-08-2012
Posts: 2
Message 24 of 65 (71,206 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter aft

Thanks!

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎05-08-2012
Posts: 2
Message 25 of 65 (71,208 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter after transit

Thanks, WOW what a simple fix for such a perplexing problem.  Why did they even put such a button in such a easy place to mistakenly press.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎04-26-2012
Posts: 2
Message 26 of 65 (71,410 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter after transit

Too bad the donkeyburger guy at customer service did not know the pertinent information.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎05-04-2012
Posts: 1
Message 27 of 65 (71,428 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter after transit

I feel like an *bleep* also!! Same thing happened to mine.. Thanks for posting! LOL I was going nuts!

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎04-26-2012
Posts: 2
Message 28 of 65 (71,831 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter after transit

Har Har, having the same problem..........read your post and that FIXED my little problemo!!!

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎03-06-2012
Posts: 1
Message 29 of 65 (74,167 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter after transit

You are so very awesome... I was having the same problem, no sound on a few channels, no sound on commercials on others and one was in spanish. This came out of nowhere... I just pressed the lang button and viola... all better. Thank you so much for the post, this has been driving me crazy for 2 weeks! I had finally had enough and was about to call Comcast! Thanks again!

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎02-21-2012
Posts: 1
Message 30 of 65 (75,575 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter after transit

Big Thanks!!  Same thing with my daughter's tv and after reading your post about the language button, I did remember having pressed it and it must have been on that one channel when I did it.  All fixed!!

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎12-23-2011
Posts: 2
Message 31 of 65 (76,335 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter after transit

Thank you I had the same problem on a Dell Inspiron with tv tuner.  Now all the stations work.  Great,  Feel Dum.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎12-06-2011
Posts: 3
Message 32 of 65 (80,609 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter aft

OMG!!!! This post saved my life!! I was about to return my brand new tv
Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎03-02-2007
Posts: 17,031
Message 33 of 65 (80,771 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter aft


WoodyHDTV11 wrote:

whats an RF

 



RF is the coaxial cable output from the box to the TV, used on older sets for Standard Def pictures.  RF gives the worse picture quality of the 4 types of connections to connect a TV to a cable box.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎12-26-2011
Posts: 1
Message 34 of 65 (80,782 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter aft

whats an RF

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎12-12-2011
Posts: 1
Message 35 of 65 (81,452 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter after transit

Thanks here too!   The remote should have a warning label.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎11-06-2011
Posts: 1
Message 36 of 65 (83,871 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter after transit

Thank You for sharing how you fixed your problem! The same thing happened to our new tv and thanks to your response, it was a quick fix!

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎10-03-2011
Posts: 1
Message 37 of 65 (85,585 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter aft

Thank you!!!  (Big Thank you)!  The Lang button had us foiled.  Fixed in time to watch the Tigers in Game 3 of ADLS!!!! 

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎09-28-2011
Posts: 5
Message 38 of 65 (85,816 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter after transit

Thanks a ton!!! Worked for me also>

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎09-28-2011
Posts: 1
Message 39 of 65 (85,830 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter after transit

OMG! this saved my life!  Thought I was going nuts. First one tv and then another. Thanks!

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎01-21-2010
Posts: 1
Message 40 of 65 (85,856 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter after transit

You were correct, thanks

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎10-06-2008
Posts: 1
Message 41 of 65 (85,957 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter after transit

THANK YOU! so much! I've been going through the same thing for so long. I could not figure out why I was only getting sound on some channels and not on others and some only on the commercials until I read this. I hit the "lang" button and now I have sound on everything. I was about to call Comcast and have them come out to see what was wrong. This was on a TV in the bedroom we don't use often but I decided to use in my home office. You saved the day. Thanks for posting this!

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎02-20-2010
Posts: 1
Message 42 of 65 (86,412 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter after transit

Thanks a million for this. I had the same problem. The "Lang" button strikes again!!!
Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎08-23-2011
Posts: 1
Message 43 of 65 (87,298 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter after transit

I've got a DTA adapter on 2nd television and I have no picture or sound.  I've tried to connected thru VCR and have the same issue.  Changed Tv setting from 3 to 4 and on tv and adapter but still no help. 

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎07-09-2011
Posts: 1
Message 44 of 65 (88,365 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter after transit

When I replaced an old analog TV with a new digital model, I had no sound on any channel via the digital adapter, although DVD player worked fine.  Unplugging the Cisco DTA and letting it re-initialize solved the problem.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎07-08-2011
Posts: 2
Message 45 of 65 (88,382 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter after transit

Had a similar problem. They have a tutorial on the help channel on home set up. See if this works for you.

 

1. TV and cable box off.

2. With TV off, press "menu" button on front panel of box. Turn on your TV if it doesn't turn on itself. You'll see a white background set up screen.

3. Select about halfway down, "additional HDMI settings" (or something like that).

4. Select the sound option and change it to one of the other options.

5. Hit back and Menu to exit set up.

6. Try it out.

 

Good luck. Hope it works.

 

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎04-10-2011
Posts: 2
Message 46 of 65 (89,505 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter after transit

Sorry my reply took so long. I was out of town. I am still having the same problem:

 

1. No sound on some channels

a. some channels have sound but the commercials do not (not such a big problem LOL)

b. some channels have dialog but no music

c. Some channels have narrative dialog but filmed parts of shows (documetaries, etc) do not

 

2. No sound when watching DVDs

3. No sound when playing Wii games

 

This all started out of the blue 3 weeks ago. Comcast had me unplug and then replug the box and then they sent a signal. This did nothing. They told me I needed to have someone come out but I've read on other boards that the techs can't fix it and you get charged anyway for this problem, and that sometimes they went to get a new box and it still didn't help. I am partially disabled and short on funds, so I can't afford a needless tech visit and I can't go down and get a box myself. Therefore i am posting here to see if we can get this fixed.

 

I have a Motorola DVR box DCH3416

I have the long, silver Comcast remote.

 

our setup is through my Yamaha receiver for sound and there is also a wireless network attached. Like I said before, this all started out of the blue...thanks for any help or advcie you can give me. All the channels I like to watch are not working properly and I feel as if I have wasted my entire cable payment this month, which is very frustrating as I am so tight on money anyway. I like to have cable to keep me company but if this keeps up it is a needless expense. I've been advised by many to go satellite or U-Verse, but I really don't want to as I know nothing abou them

 

Thank you,

 

Cori

Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎03-02-2007
Posts: 17,031
Message 47 of 65 (89,707 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter after transit


zephyrcjw wrote:

I am having the same problem too, but I do not have the remote with the Lang button. How can i fix this another way?


If you don't have a DTA digital adapter with the small remote, then please post the model of your set top box and what remote you do have.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎04-10-2011
Posts: 2
Message 48 of 65 (89,709 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter after transit

I am having the same problem too, but I do not have the remote with the Lang button. How can i fix this another way?

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎10-01-2007
Posts: 1
Message 49 of 65 (89,716 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter after transit

Lang button solved the problem!!  THANKS.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎01-31-2008
Posts: 1
Message 50 of 65 (89,873 Views)

Re: No Sound on a few channels with TV fed by Digital Transport Adapter after transit

I was experiencing the same problem tonight and didn't understand why it only affected some of the lower channels. I'm glad I decided to run a search and found this forum because it was indeed the Language button that was at issue.