Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,465,437

members

12

online now

1,690,266

discussions

New RCA tv will not work with my Comcast remote

Posted by
Visitor
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎12-11-2011
Posts: 1
Message 18 of 18 (9,233 Views)

New RCA tv will not work with my Comcast remote

I just got a new tv and my comcast remote will not control the tv, only the cable box. It does not turn the tv on/off and the volume control doesn't work. I have tried to setup my remote to the tv with the ALL of the RCA codes that were found on this website and it did not work. Please help!

17 REPLIES
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎08-30-2015
Posts: 1
Message 1 of 18 (2,444 Views)

Re: New RCA tv will not work with my Comcast remote

I to had problems with my rca tv and turned to Google for a solution. Seems I'm not the only one with this issue but after I looked it up I remembered my sons Vizio remote worked on my RCA tv. So I tried all five or six Vizio codes and second to last one works fine! I believe it was 11746 that may not be the code but there are only five or six to choose from.
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎08-19-2015
Posts: 1
Message 2 of 18 (2,556 Views)

Re: New RCA tv will not work with my Comcast remote

Thanks. That worked..after trying all rca codes.

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎05-19-2010
Posts: 1
Message 3 of 18 (2,603 Views)

Re: New RCA tv will not work with my Comcast remote

I know its an old thread, but I found the 11265 (an LG code) worked for me. Others (mentioned above) worked for the volume, but not for the "Input" button.

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎11-16-2014
Posts: 1
Message 4 of 18 (4,213 Views)

Re: New RCA tv will not work with my Comcast remote

Thank you for the code. Worked for my RCA when all other codes would not. 

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎01-14-2014
Posts: 1
Message 5 of 18 (5,988 Views)

Re: New RCA tv will not work with my Comcast remote

Thanks for the tip on the other code. Worked for me!

Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎10-29-2013
Posts: 6
Message 6 of 18 (6,051 Views)

Re: New RCA tv will not work with my Comcast remote

Hi Mr. Ed - I sorry I didnt mention I tried that but only once.  I will try that solution again, thank you for trying to help me! Mary

Posted by
Edited on
‎01-08-2014 12:08 AM

Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎05-21-2009
Posts: 630
Message 7 of 18 (6,132 Views)

Re: New RCA tv will not work with my Comcast remote

[ Edited ]

What remote do you have? Check the manual for your remote. There may be a way to program the remote without knowing the code.

 

For example for the silver remote with the Red OK button the follow steps can be used...

CAN’T FIND YOUR CODE?
If you can’t program your remote using the codes on the back, follow the steps below.
1. Turn on your TV.
2. Press TV on your remote. Then hold Setup until the TV button flashes twice.
3. Enter 9-9-1 and the TV button will flash twice.
4. Press 1 and the TV button will flash twice.
5. Press the Power button, then press CH+ multiple times until the TV turns off.
6. Once the TV turns off, press Setup to lock in the code.

Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎10-29-2013
Posts: 6
Message 8 of 18 (6,144 Views)

Re: New RCA tv will not work with my Comcast remote

None of these codes work for me.  I have tried them all several times - Lol -

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎04-13-2013
Posts: 1
Message 9 of 18 (7,440 Views)

Re: New RCA tv will not work with my Comcast remote

Nope, none of those codes worked for me.

 

Posted by
Silver Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎01-11-2010
Posts: 5,615
Message 10 of 18 (8,397 Views)

Re: New RCA tv will not work with my Comcast remote

butchandpam

Have you tried these?

Most likely code: 10047
Others to try: 11447, 11547, 11347, 11247, 11147, 10679, 11661, 11958, 10093, 12002, 10051, 10090, 11047, 11602

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎06-17-2012
Posts: 1
Message 11 of 18 (8,406 Views)

Re: New RCA tv will not work with my Comcast remote

Tried 10178 as well as all Philips and Magnavox codes.  None of these work.  Any other ideas?

 

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎04-25-2012
Posts: 1
Message 12 of 18 (8,579 Views)

Re: New RCA tv will not work with my Comcast remote

Thatnks so much!  Was just about to give up when I found this thread!!!  10178 worked for me as well!  thrilled!

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎01-08-2012
Posts: 1
Message 13 of 18 (8,926 Views)

Re: New RCA tv will not work with my Comcast remote

THANK YOU!!!! 10178 worked for me as well with my new RCA tv. It had been driving me nuts after trying all the codes for RCA and none worked. Happy camper here.

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎12-25-2011
Posts: 1
Message 14 of 18 (9,065 Views)

Re: New RCA tv will not work with my Comcast remote

THANK YOU rog286713!!!  Your suggestion of 10178 worked!

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎12-24-2011
Posts: 1
Message 15 of 18 (9,089 Views)

Re: New RCA tv will not work with my Comcast remote

I am having the same problem. I have tried all the codes offered by Comcast and then some others. I called Comcast and also used "Live Chat". My RCA tv will still not work with the Comcast remote.

 

Posted by
Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎09-20-2011
Posts: 1,561
Message 16 of 18 (9,191 Views)

Re: New RCA tv will not work with my Comcast remote

 

Thank You
-Keisha-
Posted by
Silver Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎06-17-2008
Posts: 13,999
Message 17 of 18 (9,221 Views)

Re: New RCA tv will not work with my Comcast remote

RCA is no longer made by RCA its a bunch of different componets put together using the rca name.  

 

Try 10178 or the codes for philips and magnavox.