Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,465,359

members

38

online now

1,690,212

discussions

MLS/Comcast.net

Posted by
Valued Contributor

Member Since: ‎03-18-2004
Posts: 821
Message 7 of 7 (113 Views)

MLS/Comcast.net

Hi All
I have a friend who is realtor and she has an unusual issue;
If she sets her homepage to comcast.net she can go there, sign in fine and so on, but, she cant get to her MLS site. If she closes the browser and sets the homepage to her MLS site, it lets her sign in to that, but then, she cant get to Comcast.net. She called her IT and they told her it has something to do with the changes that Comcast made. Any ideas on this one?
6 REPLIES
Posted by
Valued Contributor

Member Since: ‎03-18-2004
Posts: 821
Message 1 of 7 (113 Views)

Re: MLS/Comcast.net

Hey, All

I have found out that this is a known issue; MLS reports this when I logged into their site.
Posted by
Networking Expert

Member Since: ‎07-28-2003
Posts: 24,240
Message 2 of 7 (113 Views)

Re: MLS/Comcast.net

Such a thing is EXTREMELY unlikely. Cookies are named based on the site you got them from since these are different sites I don't see how they can conflict. Unless you have a data corruption issue, which is why I recommended cleaning things out. But if that doesn't help, then I'd look elsewhere.
Posted by
Valued Contributor

Member Since: ‎03-18-2004
Posts: 821
Message 3 of 7 (113 Views)

Re: MLS/Comcast.net

Yes, we did that one thanx;
Could it be that it is sharing cookie sessions?
Posted by
Networking Expert

Member Since: ‎07-28-2003
Posts: 24,240
Message 4 of 7 (113 Views)

Re: MLS/Comcast.net

That beats the socks off of me. I can't see how it would be either website, it sounds more like a problem on her system, or she's doing something wrong. Has she cleared out cookies and temp internet files? I've seen some strange problems disappear after doing that.
Posted by
Valued Contributor

Member Since: ‎03-18-2004
Posts: 821
Message 5 of 7 (113 Views)

Re: MLS/Comcast.net

Only mtrmls.com forces you to sign in. Apparently she can only sign into that if she sets that as her homepage, but when she does that, she gets "page cant be displayed" at Comcast.net.
If she resets her homepage to Comcast, she cant get there but then when she tries to get mtrmls.com, she gets "page cant be displayed."
Posted by
Networking Expert

Member Since: ‎07-28-2003
Posts: 24,240
Message 6 of 7 (113 Views)

Re: MLS/Comcast.net

Signing in on one website or another should have absolutely no effect on signing in to another website. For example, I'm signed in on three different web forums at the moment, right in this same browser window (EQ2 forums, guild forum, and Comcast).

She realizes that she never has to sign in to the Comcast site unless you wants to do some sort of protected function, right? It's certainly not required to access any other website.

What she needs to do is post the exact specifics of what doesn't work, including URL's, error messages, browser and OS version, etc.