Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
You can contribute an answer or post a question.
Reply
Posted by
Contributor
Member Since: ‎09-21-2011
Posts: 5
Accepted Solution

I can turn my tv on with the remote control, but no other commands will work.

I'm wondering how to fix this problem.  I tried using the 24/7 interactive but there isn't much info there.  I have fresh batteries, I can turn on the t.v. I can turn up the volume but nothing else on the remote control is working.  If I turn the tv off the cable box stays on.

 

What should I try next to fix this problem

 

Posted by
Cable Expert
Member Since: ‎03-02-2007
Posts: 13,730

Re: I can turn my tv on with the remote control, but no other commands will work.

We would first recommend unplugging the power on the set top box, wait a minute, and power it up again.  Give it a few minutes to reload and give it a test.

 

If that doesn't help, then next step is to move the box away from the TV in case the CFL interference from the TV screen is messing with the IR receiver on the box.

 

Next would be take the box and remote to the local Comcast office for a swap.

Posted by
Silver Problem Solver
Member Since: ‎06-17-2008
Posts: 13,999

Re: I can turn my tv on with the remote control, but no other commands will work.

well it sounds like your only using the tv portion of the remote.  YOur comcast remote will only turn on your tv and do the volume are you pressing the cable button to access the other features of your remote that will allow you to control the cable box.

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎09-21-2011
Posts: 2

Re: I can turn my tv on with the remote control, but no other commands will work.

 I can turn my tv on with the remote control, but no other commands will work. volume works and the display continously shows 8:21 and box won't turn off.

 

Posted by
Contributor
Member Since: ‎09-21-2011
Posts: 5

Re: I can turn my tv on with the remote control, but no other commands will work.

Thank you, you solved my problem.  I turned off the cable box as suggested and everything is now working.  Although when I choose the red guide button everything says To Be Announced.    Do I need to do anything or will the programing guide automatically come back with information on what is playing on each channel?

 

Posted by
Cable Expert
Member Since: ‎03-02-2007
Posts: 13,730

Re: I can turn my tv on with the remote control, but no other commands will work.

The guide information will re-populate and can take 24 hours depending on the box and how busy the system is.  That is normal.

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎09-21-2011
Posts: 2

Re: I can turn my tv on with the remote control, but no other commands will work.

I unplug the power and then waited 10 sec. applied power back to box and it works properly now !!!

Advanced
You must be signed in to add attachments