Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
You can contribute an answer or post a question.
Reply
Posted by
New Visitor
Member Since: ‎06-05-2012
Posts: 1

Green Screen

Am having TV screen problems. While watching TV from Comcast Cable, TV screen has been turning fully green and does not have a picture.  Sound goies in and out. Any ideas?

Posted by
Regular Contributor
  • Great Job! Your reply has been accepted. Thank you for helping and Congrats on your 1st Solution.
  • On your way! Congrats on Posting 10 topics!
Member Since: ‎03-22-2012
Posts: 53

Re: Green Screen

[ Edited ]

CLOVER25

                     We have a sony 50" sxrd TV with a HD box and a couple of times while pressing the remote control buttons our screen went completely green . I think they got out of sink with each other. I turned off both the TV and HD box and unpluged the HD box for a couple of minutes and that seemed to take care of it .

Posted by
Silver Problem Solver
Member Since: ‎06-17-2008
Posts: 13,999

Re: Green Screen

that is usually caused by an hdmi incompatibility issue.  To test hook up component and see if it goes away, see if there is an update for your tv's firmware.  restarting the box or tv usually does the trick.

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎02-03-2007
Posts: 3

Re: Green Screen

I'm currently have the same issue. I've been looking for answers and seem to come up empty. The Skype set top box works fine with any other device except when I turn my AV receiver to my DVR. The only way I can get it to work with my DVR is not run it through my AV receiver. If it was a problem with my receiver than it would not work with apple TV, xbox or blu ray player and if it was my DVR it wouldn't work when I only hook up DVR to Skype box than skype box to TV. It seems its a firmware issue. Anyone have any ideas?

Posted by
Silver Problem Solver
Member Since: ‎10-18-2008
Posts: 4,844

Re: Green Screen

Start with the firmware, that's between you and the TV Mfg. HDMI can be very finicky, run it directly to the TV. It's a handshaking thing.

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎02-03-2007
Posts: 3

Re: Green Screen

Just picking your brain. If it was a firmware update with my TV why would it work with all other HDMI connected devices running through my receiver or work when my DVR isnt ran through my reciever. The only device that has a issue is the DVR when connected to my receiver. I agree with you HDMI can be a bear with the handshaking. Thanks for you post and reply....

Posted by
Silver Problem Solver
Member Since: ‎10-18-2008
Posts: 4,844

Re: Green Screen

I was just quoting you "it seems like a firmware issue" At least check the TV Mfg. website and see if one is available. Comcast DVR's have their own set of problems. Not alot you can do about that.

Posted by
New Visitor
Member Since: ‎02-26-2013
Posts: 1

Re: Green Screen

I've hd the same issue I thought It was my Tv. But had the T.V checked its not the tv.
Posted by
Official Employee
Member Since: ‎01-09-2012
Posts: 11,468
Advanced
You must be signed in to add attachments