Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,466,606

members

33

online now

1,691,505

discussions

EAS message on DVR cable box -- Help!!

Posted by
Contributor

Member Since: ‎02-13-2004
Posts: 37
Message 7 of 7 (56,522 Views)

EAS message on DVR cable box -- Help!!

I woke up this morning and my tv is stuck on CSpan...grrrr   When I looked at the cable box it says EAS and I pressed the power button and it went to standby and the tv went off.  I pressed power again and it shows a channel for a second and then goes right back to EAS on the display and CSpan is on (which I never watch).  What is wrong?  Can I fix it or is my box needing to be replaced?

6 REPLIES
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎11-15-2014
Posts: 2
Message 1 of 7 (15,630 Views)

Re: EAS message on DVR cable box -- Help!!

Worked for me, but how about you fix the problem Comcast?
Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎11-20-2009
Posts: 1
Message 2 of 7 (21,777 Views)

Re: EAS message on DVR cable box -- Help!!

Thanks. I unplugged the box for a minute and everything worked when I pressed the All On button.
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎06-10-2014
Posts: 1
Message 3 of 7 (22,015 Views)

Re: EAS message on DVR cable box -- Help!!

Didn't work for me

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎05-23-2013
Posts: 1
Message 4 of 7 (38,708 Views)

Re: EAS message on DVR cable box -- Help!!

Thanks so much for posting this! It just worked for me too.

Posted by
Contributor

Member Since: ‎02-13-2004
Posts: 37
Message 5 of 7 (56,514 Views)

Re: EAS message on DVR cable box -- Help!!

Thanks!!!  That worked....I sure hope this doesn't become a constant issue but atleast I know I can fix it.

Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎08-02-2005
Posts: 1,063
Message 6 of 7 (56,518 Views)

Re: EAS message on DVR cable box -- Help!!

Can you pull the power cord from the back for 30 seconds, and then plug it back in?

 

Sounds like it never got the EAS (Emergency Alert System) unlock command, so you will have to manually reset it.

 

Let's hope it's not a systemwide problem where all set tops are stuck in EAS mode.  If that's the case, you can bet the big guns are working on the issue.