Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,429,836

members

14

online now

1,657,955

discussions

EAS message on DVR cable box -- Help!!

Posted by
Contributor
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎02-13-2004
Posts: 37
Message 7 of 7 (55,361 Views)

EAS message on DVR cable box -- Help!!

I woke up this morning and my tv is stuck on CSpan...grrrr   When I looked at the cable box it says EAS and I pressed the power button and it went to standby and the tv went off.  I pressed power again and it shows a channel for a second and then goes right back to EAS on the display and CSpan is on (which I never watch).  What is wrong?  Can I fix it or is my box needing to be replaced?

6 REPLIES
Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎11-15-2014
Posts: 2
Message 1 of 7 (14,469 Views)

Re: EAS message on DVR cable box -- Help!!

Worked for me, but how about you fix the problem Comcast?
Posted by
Frequent Visitor
Member Since: ‎11-20-2009
Posts: 1
Message 2 of 7 (20,616 Views)

Re: EAS message on DVR cable box -- Help!!

Thanks. I unplugged the box for a minute and everything worked when I pressed the All On button.
Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎06-10-2014
Posts: 1
Message 3 of 7 (20,854 Views)

Re: EAS message on DVR cable box -- Help!!

Didn't work for me

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎05-23-2013
Posts: 1
Message 4 of 7 (37,547 Views)

Re: EAS message on DVR cable box -- Help!!

Thanks so much for posting this! It just worked for me too.

Posted by
Contributor
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎02-13-2004
Posts: 37
Message 5 of 7 (55,353 Views)

Re: EAS message on DVR cable box -- Help!!

Thanks!!!  That worked....I sure hope this doesn't become a constant issue but atleast I know I can fix it.

Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎08-02-2005
Posts: 1,063
Message 6 of 7 (55,357 Views)

Re: EAS message on DVR cable box -- Help!!

Can you pull the power cord from the back for 30 seconds, and then plug it back in?

 

Sounds like it never got the EAS (Emergency Alert System) unlock command, so you will have to manually reset it.

 

Let's hope it's not a systemwide problem where all set tops are stuck in EAS mode.  If that's the case, you can bet the big guns are working on the issue.