Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,439,940

members

32

online now

1,667,965

discussions

Does offer 1080P

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎06-07-2010
Posts: 2
Message 6 of 6 (9,929 Views)

Does offer 1080P

Hello,

 

Does comcast have 1080P or only 1080I?

 

If they do have 1080P how can I program the box to get it.  i got a new tv and last time they changed my box the tech enter some code so the box can check my config and see which ones I could use.

5 REPLIES
Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎03-26-2012
Posts: 2
Message 1 of 6 (6,620 Views)

Re: Does offer 1080P

This is good information to have. I was freaking out because I couldn't get my cable to come in any better than 1080i. From what I understand, this is a matter of bandwidth. Once cable providers come up with more bandwidth, they'll start broadcasting in 1080P. 

Posted by
Problem Solver
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.
  • Great Job! Your reply has been accepted. Thank you for helping and Congrats on your 1st Solution.
  • Communication is Key. Way to go, keep it up. Congrats on 100 Replies!

Member Since: ‎04-03-2008
Posts: 511
Message 2 of 6 (9,771 Views)

Re: Does offer 1080P


mont4982 wrote:

Thank you,

 

 Your instructions were very helpfull. It worked but the box I have doesn't offer 1080P.



Is anyone broadcasting or providing programming in 1080p in the US on a regular basis? Outside of a handful of pay-per-view movies, the anser is No, not yet.

 

 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1080p

Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎12-31-2004
Posts: 10,676
Message 3 of 6 (9,790 Views)

Re: Does offer 1080P

Comcast cable boxes do not provide 1080p.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎06-07-2010
Posts: 2
Message 4 of 6 (9,812 Views)

Re: Does offer 1080P

Thank you,

 

 Your instructions were very helpfull. It worked but the box I have doesn't offer 1080P.

Posted by
Silver Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎06-17-2008
Posts: 13,999
Message 5 of 6 (9,926 Views)

Re: Does offer 1080P

comcast like fios only broadcasts at the most 1080i.  What box do you have.   try turning off the box leave the tv on and within two seconds press menu, that will bring up the config menu where you can change the settings.