Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,440,862

members

19

online now

1,668,678

discussions

Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

SOLVED
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
55 REPLIES
Posted by
Regular Visitor
Member Since: ‎12-28-2011
Posts: 17
Message 1 of 56 (3,075 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

I had the same problem with that model element tv and it was the tv. i returned it to walmart and got another which worked fine with the comcast codes.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎12-20-2014
Posts: 1
Message 2 of 56 (3,081 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

I can't find a xfinity tv code that will work for element 40" tv (ELEFW408). I have used all the ones listed in this forum, and none have worked.  I also tried using the TV codes for LG, GOLDSTAR, and EMERSON, which I had no luck as well. Does anyone have any other codes? (I have the small black remote with yellow mute button)

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎12-13-2014
Posts: 1
Message 3 of 56 (3,128 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

I have the XR2 remote and code 10019 worked on my Element HDTV that I bought at Target on black friday.

Posted by
Edited on
‎12-05-2014 12:47 PM

Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎12-05-2014
Posts: 1
Message 4 of 56 (3,176 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

[ Edited ]

11178 worked for me thanks!

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎12-04-2014
Posts: 1
Message 5 of 56 (3,188 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

11523 worked for me.  Also discovered if you use the same code but program the Aux button with it you can change the Aspect ratio of the TV with the HD Zoom button...Xfinity Remote.

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎05-06-2007
Posts: 1
Message 6 of 56 (3,232 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

11178 worked for me after all other attempta failed.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎11-23-2014
Posts: 1
Message 7 of 56 (53,466 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

10178 worked first time for me as well!
Posted by
Regular Visitor
Member Since: ‎12-28-2011
Posts: 17
Message 8 of 56 (54,730 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

It you just bought this Element TV take it back. I had the same problem with my ELEFW408 and returned it to the walmart store and exchanged for another  ELEFW408 which worked perfect with code 10178. I had actually e-mailed element and after three different controllers they recomended I exchange it.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎11-09-2014
Posts: 1
Message 9 of 56 (54,743 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

None of this works for an elefw408.
Posted by
Bronze Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎01-20-2009
Posts: 2,612
Message 10 of 56 (54,891 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV


glenn-ho wrote:

Well it was the TV just returned with an exchange and 10178 worked first time i tried.


I'm glad you got it working.  Good job.

Posted by
Regular Visitor
Member Since: ‎12-28-2011
Posts: 17
Message 11 of 56 (54,928 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

Well it was the TV just returned with an exchange and 10178 worked first time i tried.

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎01-19-2014
Posts: 11
Message 12 of 56 (54,930 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

That's a good idea, although I've had more success speaking with a tech in person on the phone than trying written instructions (although this particular problem was solved through good old-fashioned research & trial-&-error).

Posted by
Bronze Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎01-20-2009
Posts: 2,612
Message 13 of 56 (54,933 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV


glenn-ho wrote:

no firmware update for this new model Element ELEFW408. I have been a customer of comcast for over 10yrs and knoew how to program a remote. I am taking this TV back to exchange it as the 1 year old Element 40 inch I have was no problem getting the remote to program to it.


Have you tred here - http://customer.comcast.com/remotes/

 

Good luck.

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎01-19-2014
Posts: 11
Message 14 of 56 (54,969 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

Maybe you should try calling Comcast first...It may be just something little & would save you from packing the tv back up & lugging it back to the store.  Maybe try a different remote? Just an idea.

Posted by
Regular Visitor
Member Since: ‎12-28-2011
Posts: 17
Message 15 of 56 (54,973 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

no firmware update for this new model Element ELEFW408. I have been a customer of comcast for over 10yrs and knoew how to program a remote. I am taking this TV back to exchange it as the 1 year old Element 40 inch I have was no problem getting the remote to program to it.

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎01-19-2014
Posts: 11
Message 16 of 56 (54,977 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

I was also told that some Kodak codes work, but we got lucky & the first set of basic codes worked, so that's just a theory at this point. It will also behoove you to update your software first, though, as that may prevent any codes from working. This involves purchasing (if you don't already own one) a USB cable (check ends before purchase, ie, male-to-female or female-to-female, whatever the tv port requires and whatever your computer port requires, which is usually female). But check to see if you're following the directions to reprogram the remote first to see if you're doing it right because these codes have worked for everyone else so far. Good luck & let me know how it goes.

Posted by
Regular Visitor
Member Since: ‎12-28-2011
Posts: 17
Message 17 of 56 (55,004 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

red button

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎01-19-2014
Posts: 11
Message 18 of 56 (55,035 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

Check your remote for the color of your Select/Ok button...that will determine whether or not you should try a 5-digit code or a 4-digit code. If the 5-digit codes aren't working, try dropping the first number of each of the codes (some remotes have a red button & some have a gray button). You may need to update your tv's software efore trying any codes as this may prevent codes from working. For complete instructions please see my previos reposting.
Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎01-19-2014
Posts: 11
Message 19 of 56 (55,049 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV
Options
‎07-31-2014 12:58 PM

Reposting to help those who didn't see the original posting: The four basic codes for Element TVs are: 10178, 11523, 11178 & 11991. This is, of course, if you have the remote with the Red Ok/Select buttons. If you have the remote with the Gray Ok/Select buttons, it takes only 4-digit codes, so just drop the first digit of the above codes & try them. I was also told that some Kodak codes work, but we got lucky & the first set of basic codes worked, so that's just a theory at this point. It will also behoove you to update your software first, though, as that may prevent any codes from working. This involves purchasing (if you don't already own one) a USB cable (check ends before purchase, ie, male-to-female or female-to-female, whatever the tv port requires and whatever your computer port requires, which is usually female). Purchased a 23-inch Element for my son for Christmas on Brown Thursday (the day before Black Friday) from Walmart, and found it didn't even come with the TV base, so when he didn't check the box until he got back to graduate school in Mississippi (like I told him to do!), that didn't go over well! Then when he asked about programming the remote & I couldn't find codes in the remote manual, I did my research to prevent yet another disaster...Hope this helps someone out there.
Posted by
Edited on
‎11-05-2014 09:58 PM

Regular Visitor
Member Since: ‎12-28-2011
Posts: 17
Message 20 of 56 (55,077 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

[ Edited ]

I have a walmart Element ELEFW408 40 inch jusr purchased on Nov 4th, 2014 that also will not accept those codes? Anyone come up a working code?

 

 

I have tried 10178, 11523, 11178 & 11991.

Posted by
Edited on
‎10-26-2014 03:13 PM

Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎07-29-2014
Posts: 3
Message 21 of 56 (55,711 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

[ Edited ]

No joy. 

 

Also, not how to update my TV. :'( 

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎10-17-2014
Posts: 1
Message 22 of 56 (56,255 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

on your xfinity remote control press and release the tv                                                                                                                 button then press and hold setup button until it blinks twice

then enter number (10178)

this will have your remote working with your Element TV Set in no time good luck!

 

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎09-10-2014
Posts: 1
Message 23 of 56 (58,148 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

11523 Worked for my 19" Element. Thanks.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎09-07-2014
Posts: 1
Message 24 of 56 (58,275 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

Thank you, the first code worked. I had tried everything even the search option! Thank You, Thank You 

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎01-19-2014
Posts: 11
Message 25 of 56 (60,264 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

Yes.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎07-29-2014
Posts: 3
Message 26 of 56 (60,547 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV


afishh wrote:

 It will also behoove you to update your software first, though, as that may prevent any codes from working. 


I presume you mean that I need to update the software on the TV?

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎01-19-2014
Posts: 11
Message 27 of 56 (60,552 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

Reposting to help those who didn't see the original posting:  The four basic codes for Element TVs are:  10178, 11523, 11178 & 11991. This is, of course, if you have the remote with the Red Ok/Select buttons. If you have the remote with the Gray Ok/Select buttons, it takes only 4-digit codes, so just drop the first digit of the above codes & try them. I was also told that some Kodak codes work, but we got lucky & the first set of basic codes worked, so that's just a theory at this point.  It will also behoove you to update your software first, though, as that may prevent any codes from working. This involves purchasing (if you don't already own one) a USB cable (check ends before purchase, ie, male-to-female or female-to-female, whatever the tv port requires and whatever your computer port requires, which is usually female). Purchased a 23-inch Element for my son for Christmas on Brown Thursday (the day before Black Friday) from Walmart, and found it didn't even come with the TV base, so when he didn't check the box until he got back to graduate school in Mississippi (like I told him to do!), that didn't go over well! Then when he asked about programming the remote & I couldn't find codes in the remote manual, I did my research to prevent yet another disaster...Hope this helps someone out there.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎07-29-2014
Posts: 3
Message 28 of 56 (60,656 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

We have an Element ELEFC463JA TV. We also have the XR2 remote. We had the remote paired with the TV for a couple of weeks (using the 9-1-1 code and the CH up buttons until the TV turns off method), but for some reason, lost the pairing.

 

What do I do now?

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎04-08-2010
Posts: 1
Message 29 of 56 (64,448 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

Just an FYI. I just picked up a Element 19" and the code that worked for it was 10019. 

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎01-19-2014
Posts: 11
Message 30 of 56 (66,914 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

The four basic codes for Element TVs are:  10178, 11523, 11178 & 11991. This is, of course, if you have the remote with the Red Ok/Select buttons. If you have the remote with the Gray Ok/Select buttons, it takes only 4-digit codes, so just drop the first digit of the above codes & try them. It will behoove you to update your software first, though, as that may prevent any codes from working. This involves purchasing (if you don't already own one) a USB cable (check ends before purchase, ie, male-to-female or female-to-female, whatever the tv port requires and whatever your computer port requires, which is usually female). Purchased a 23-inch Element for my son for Christmas on Brown Thursday (the day before Black Friday) from Walmart, and found it didn't even come with the TV base, so when he didn't check the box until he got back to graduate school in Mississippi (like I told him to do!), that didn't go over well! Then when he asked about programming the remote & I couldn't find codes in the remote manual, I did my research to prevent yet another disaster...Hope this helps someone out there.

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎01-19-2014
Posts: 11
Message 31 of 56 (66,916 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

Reposting to help those who didn't see the original posting:  The four basic codes for Element TVs are:  10178, 11523, 11178 & 11991. This is, of course, if you have the remote with the Red Ok/Select buttons. If you have the remote with the Gray Ok/Select buttons, it takes only 4-digit codes, so just drop the first digit of the above codes & try them. It will behoove you to update your software first, though, as that may prevent any codes from working. This involves purchasing (if you don't already own one) a USB cable (check ends before purchase, ie, male-to-female or female-to-female, whatever the tv port requires and whatever your computer port requires, which is usually female). Purchased a 23-inch Element for my son for Christmas on Brown Thursday (the day before Black Friday) from Walmart, and found it didn't even come with the TV base, so when he didn't check the box until he got back to graduate school in Mississippi (like I told him to do!), that didn't go over well! Then when he asked about programming the remote & I couldn't find codes in the remote manual, I did my research to prevent yet another disaster...Hope this helps someone out there.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎03-30-2014
Posts: 3
Message 32 of 56 (66,954 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

PLEASE!!!!  Somebody give me the magic trick to make the channels change!

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎03-30-2014
Posts: 3
Message 33 of 56 (66,956 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

After playing around with it some more, I now have on/off and volume.  No matter what I do or how much hair I pull out I can not get the channel to change!~

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎03-30-2014
Posts: 3
Message 34 of 56 (66,963 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

To bring an old thread back to life!  I have a 19" Element thaqt I can get to turn on and off with both codes 10178 and 11523.  Problem is, I have no channel change or volume with either of them.  same thing when I do the channel up code search.  The link for the remote update does not work anymore either.  Anybody got any ideas for me to try?

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎01-19-2014
Posts: 11
Message 35 of 56 (70,492 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

I was also advised that some Kodak codes will work with Element tv's, but they're not listed in the remote manual either, and we got the very first code to work, so this is just a theory at this point.

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎01-19-2014
Posts: 11
Message 36 of 56 (70,495 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

The four basic codes for Element TVs are:  10178, 11523, 11178 & 11991. This is, of course, if you have the remote with the Red Ok/Select buttons. If you have the remote with the Gray Ok/Select buttons, it takes only 4-digit codes, so just drop the first digit of the above codes & try them. It will behoove you to update your software first, though, as that may prevent any codes from working. This involves purchasing (if you don't already own one) a USB cable (check ends before purchase, ie, male-to-female or female-to-female, whatever the tv port requires and whatever your computer port requires, which is usually female). Purchased a 23-inch Element for my son for Christmas on Brown Thursday (the day before Black Friday) from Walmart, and found it didn't even come with the TV base, so when he didn't check the box until he got back to graduate school in Mississippi (like I told him to do!), that didn't go over well! Then when he asked about programming the remote & I couldn't find codes in the remote manual, I did my research to prevent yet another disaster...Hope this helps someone out there.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎10-20-2013
Posts: 3
Message 37 of 56 (70,606 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

The code #10178 for the Element HDTV must be loaded to both the tv and aux buttons on the Xfinity remote, it works for me!


draybook wrote:

I tried using the codes 11523 and 10178, but no luck. I followed the instructions here on how to program it and the tv will accept the code and turn back on. However, after that it doesn't respond at all. I have an Element 47" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, ELGFT471. My remote is the Comcast Universal
Remote - Red OK/Select Button. Any ideas?


 

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎01-18-2014
Posts: 1
Message 38 of 56 (70,660 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

The code 10178 worked thanks so much!
Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎12-01-2013
Posts: 1
Message 39 of 56 (74,187 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

Code 10178 worked for the XR2 Comcast X1 system remote on the 50" Target Black Friday 2013 TV ELEFT502
Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎10-13-2013
Posts: 1
Message 40 of 56 (76,969 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

Thank you! 10178 worked for me.

 

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎05-29-2010
Posts: 1
Message 41 of 56 (80,538 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

thanks,  11991 worked greaton an element RBELDFT406

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎10-13-2008
Posts: 1
Message 42 of 56 (85,327 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

Thank You!  10178 worked for us on the first try.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎02-24-2013
Posts: 1
Message 43 of 56 (86,941 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

Yes : I just wanted to point out that in the steps to automatically finding the codes, it was stated that for DVDs to hold down the TV button in step 2, whereas the pamphlet says to use the Aux button. I am actually hoping the pamphlet is incorrect in that I cannot get my DVD recognized by any of the suggested codes or by this automatic method. I can't find any schematics/ diagrams except for a basic cable hookup which does me no good. There is no information on what channel you need to be on to watch your DVD, if any one in particular is required, on this new  Xfinity system [though i don't have the actual Xfinity advanced system installed]. And should you be in "cable mode" as I can't find a way to just be in TV mode. Does the A/B light have to be on, & if so, how does one go about keeping it on ?

 

Bottom line there is so very little info on getting a DVD player to work w/ a newer TV & Comcast system that I am about ready to disconnect the box from the TV & connect the DVD to the TV & just watch DVDs the "I-just- moved-in-and-don't-have-TV-service-yet-method" of entertainment ! And I did just move in and might as well not have TV service as far as trying to watch my DVDs as it is rocket science w/ a great element of guesstimating trying to figure it all out.

 

I can't even get,using this described method of automatice code-finding & locking, to get the lights to flash twice on the remote !  As my best buddy in the Marines always said, "it's gotta be me" !!!

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎02-22-2013
Posts: 1
Message 44 of 56 (87,024 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

to the person that posted the Element TV update!!! Thank you!!! thank you!!!!  Thank you!!! I was going nuts trying to program the code.

 

Works like a charm!!

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎10-28-2008
Posts: 1
Message 45 of 56 (92,523 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

Code 11523 worked for, thanks

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎01-28-2012
Posts: 1
Message 46 of 56 (96,009 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

FYI, I couldn't get the remote to work for my newer Element TV until I updated the TV with the remote update for the TV found here: http://www.elementelectronics.com/remoteupdate.html

Posted by
Visitor
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎07-27-2009
Posts: 2
Message 47 of 56 (96,833 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

Thank you so much! That worked on my new Element TV!

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎09-18-2006
Posts: 1
Message 48 of 56 (97,610 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

I did not find a specific code for the Element but there was a way of programing it where you just kept pushing a button (I think channel up)until the tv turned off and it worked for me.

Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • On your way! Congrats on Posting 10 topics!
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎05-08-2011
Posts: 30
Message 49 of 56 (97,640 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

No luck on any of those. I'm not too worried about it, not like it's hard to get up and push buttons, just a matter of convenience.

Posted by
Silver Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎06-17-2008
Posts: 13,999
Message 50 of 56 (97,654 Views)

Re: Can't program Comcast remote to Element TV

3264

2210

11991

10178