Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

members

topics

5 GHz network

ANSWERED
Regular Visitor

5 GHz network

The xF1 modem was recently setup and the 2.4 GHz wifi network shows up a a choice but the 5 GHz does not. I thought I gave both a username and password but I only see the one. Is this a problem? Do I need the 2? Does it matter? Thanks

David

Accepted Solution

Re: 5 GHz network

I had the same problem. I went into the web portal and discovered that my 2.4 and 5g ssids were the same. I edited the 5g  (changed it to add 5g after the network name), hit save and that solved the problem. I can now see both the 2.4 and the 5g.

View answer in context
Service Expert

Somethings not right.  Do you see both here?

https://internet.xfinity.com/

Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark a Best Answer!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark an Answer!solution Icon

Official Employee

Not all devices are made to work with/display the 5ghz connection. Also check that yours aren’t combined.

You have the X1 platform, say “my WiFi” with voice commands and you’ll see your wireless info

Community Icon
I am an Official Comcast Employee.
Official Employees are from multiple teams within Comcast: Product, Support, Leadership.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Community Icon
I am an Offical Comcast Employee.