Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,380,963

members

174

online now

1,612,041

discussions

Search engine troubles

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎01-05-2010
Posts: 8
Message 1 of 11 (924 Views)

Search engine troubles

How come when I use the Search Engine ( Google) I can only display the first 2 pages aftewr that page 2 is always displayed?

10 REPLIES
Posted by
Silver Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎06-17-2008
Posts: 13,999
Message 2 of 11 (912 Views)

Re: Search engine troubles

your going to have to post that a different way as that makes no sense how you posted it.   search engines have nothing to do with comcast they just provide you internet access nothing more.

Posted by
Edited on
‎02-02-2013 05:39 PM

Service Expert

Member Since: ‎02-04-2004
Posts: 15,638
Message 3 of 11 (908 Views)

Re: Search engine troubles

[ Edited ]

rog286713 wrote:

your going to have to post that a different way as that makes no sense how you posted it.   search engines have nothing to do with comcast they just provide you internet access nothing more.



We do also help with NON-Comcast issues.  To suggest otherwise is incorrect.

 

 

904svo, your post makes sense. I take it that you are saying that when looking at the results of Google search you cannot get past page 2.

 

The only thing I can think of is to ask if you have cleared your cache? If not, please do so and see if that resolves your issue.

 

As an alternative you can try a different search engine. My search engine is this one which returns results from google, yahoo and more. (This is also my homepage)

 

If you need to know how to clear the cache post back and tell us which browser you are using.

 

 

 

 

 



 


Comcast employees must be authorized to post in the forum in an official capacity. Employees posting here have their names in red and are designated as employees. Names not in red are customers.

This is done to protect customers and for assurance that they are dealing with a Comcast employee.
Non-Authorized Employees are allowed to post but cannot state they are employees nor can they allude to being employees.

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎01-05-2010
Posts: 8
Message 4 of 11 (892 Views)

Re: Search engine troubles

Clearing the cache did not fix the proiblem. Any other search engine works fine.

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎01-05-2010
Posts: 8
Message 5 of 11 (889 Views)

Re: Search engine troubles

If I goto goggle.com it works fine, it only seems to fail when I use my Comcast home page with Goggle search engine.

Posted by
Service Expert

Member Since: ‎02-04-2004
Posts: 15,638
Message 6 of 11 (886 Views)

Re: Search engine troubles

I tried it from the Comcast homepage and had no issues getting past page 2. The only thing I can suggest is don't use it from the homepage.



 


Comcast employees must be authorized to post in the forum in an official capacity. Employees posting here have their names in red and are designated as employees. Names not in red are customers.

This is done to protect customers and for assurance that they are dealing with a Comcast employee.
Non-Authorized Employees are allowed to post but cannot state they are employees nor can they allude to being employees.

Posted by
Service Expert

Member Since: ‎02-04-2004
Posts: 15,638
Message 7 of 11 (876 Views)

Re: Search engine troubles

Someone else reported the same issue today-no solution in this thread

 

http://forums.comcast.com/t5/Xfinity-com-Website/website-search/td-p/1570255



 


Comcast employees must be authorized to post in the forum in an official capacity. Employees posting here have their names in red and are designated as employees. Names not in red are customers.

This is done to protect customers and for assurance that they are dealing with a Comcast employee.
Non-Authorized Employees are allowed to post but cannot state they are employees nor can they allude to being employees.

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎01-05-2010
Posts: 8
Message 8 of 11 (870 Views)

Re: Search engine troubles

I install Xfinity toolbar and that fix it.

Posted by
Valued Contributor

Member Since: ‎06-05-2007
Posts: 275
Message 9 of 11 (865 Views)

Re: Search engine troubles

I do not recommend using Comcast toolbar. It generally causes nothing but problems and what it has you can get elsewhere on the homepage without it. Even a Comcast tech told me not to use it. Most toolbars are nothing but problems waiting to happen.

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎01-05-2010
Posts: 8
Message 10 of 11 (860 Views)

Re: Search engine troubles

I think the problem is link to Constant Guard or Safe Browsing feature that Xfinity uses.

 

Posted by
Security Expert

Member Since: ‎10-07-2003
Posts: 20,976
Message 11 of 11 (852 Views)

Re: Search engine troubles

Evie, I think he is talking about the google search that is on the comcast.net page not standard google. I can duplicate what he sees if I use the xfinity search enhanced by google that is on the comcast.net page.

TANSTAAFL!!



-->