Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
You can contribute an answer or post a question.
Reply
Highlighted
Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.



Member Since: ‎01-14-2010
Posts: 11

Local News/Local Forecast

Used to defaul to a neighboring "larger" town - even when I would specifically change to my zip code.  next day would be the default again.

 

but now - says my zip code cannot be found.  I live in a town with over 25,000 residents - so it's not like a "one horse town"

Posted by
Regular Contributor
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.



Member Since: ‎05-14-2006
Posts: 40

Re: Local News/Local Forecast

Experiencing the exact same issue in Pittsburgh, PA (just started this week)

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!



Member Since: ‎02-13-2006
Posts: 2

Re: Local News/Local Forecast

I can't understand why Comcast can't find the zip code that their facility in Sarasota, Florida is in (or next to).   I'm in 34243 and they still can't find it for local news, etc.  They keep coming up with 34230 - or something like that.   I would appreciate your fixing the problem so I can get local news.

 

Jean Cordier

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!



Member Since: ‎01-28-2012
Posts: 2

Re: Local News/Local Forecast

I live in Boston Ma. zip code 02122 why can't it be found? Very slow and poor service!!!

 

Posted by
Service Expert



Member Since: ‎02-04-2004
Posts: 15,270

Re: Local News/Local Forecast

What mobile devices are you using or is this happening on your computer?

 

IF ON YOUR COMPUTER, your post will be moved to the appropriate forum.



 


Comcast employees must be authorized to post in the forum in an official capacity. Employees posting here have their names in red and are designated as employees. Names not in red are customers.

This is done to protect customers and for assurance that they are dealing with a Comcast employee.
Non-Authorized Employees are allowed to post but cannot state they are employees nor can they allude to being employees.

Posted by
Regular Contributor
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.



Member Since: ‎05-14-2006
Posts: 40

Re: Local News/Local Forecast

This is happening on computer running Windows XP, Service Pack 3.  Thank you

Posted by
Silver Problem Solver



Member Since: ‎06-17-2008
Posts: 13,999

Re: Local News/Local Forecast

[ Edited ]

can you please post what it is your trying to do here?  local weather and news?  Is the town next to you not the same weather?   I have no way to get my local weather and news for my town, its always the next big town by you.    

 

If your doing this on your pc where are you putting in your zip code?  Are you looking for your specific own town's news?   Where would that come from?   I have to go to my state paper and then for my county to get that.  I am really not sure how your trying to do this,

 

 

PLease post the website your going to and then what your doing to enter the zip code..  I would like to try this and see what comes up.

Posted by
Regular Contributor
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.



Member Since: ‎05-14-2006
Posts: 40

Re: Local News/Local Forecast

The site is:  http://xfinity.comcast.net/

 

Local News will not load and site will not accept zip code input.  Thank you

Posted by
Service Expert



Member Since: ‎02-04-2004
Posts: 15,270

Re: Local News/Local Forecast

rog,   http://xfinity.comcast.net/

 

Scroll down the page. On the left side where the links are to things such as Autos, Dating, etc. look for Local.

 

Click Local.

 

I have to say I was not impressed with what I saw after I entered my zip code.

 

The Weather was correct-it had my city name.

 

The news comes from a Birmingham newspaper (Birmingham's Elyton Village public housing community reopens after renovations)  (Metro Birmingham forecast: Sunny but turning cooler)

 

and a Birmingham tv station news department (Three puppies up for adoption).

 

Today is the first time I have looked at that section of the Comcast homepage since I rarely go to the homepage.

 

It will also be the last time I look at Local.

 

 

 



 


Comcast employees must be authorized to post in the forum in an official capacity. Employees posting here have their names in red and are designated as employees. Names not in red are customers.

This is done to protect customers and for assurance that they are dealing with a Comcast employee.
Non-Authorized Employees are allowed to post but cannot state they are employees nor can they allude to being employees.

Posted by
Silver Problem Solver



Member Since: ‎01-11-2010
Posts: 5,599

Re: Local News/Local Forecast

There has to be some issue between the Comcast servers and their sources. I looked at the Xfinity.net page a few days ago and the weather kept showing up as -8 degrees. Did that for two straight days all during the day when I would look at it every once in a while.

Location is correct, cleared cache, etc. Still had the correct location, wrong readings. A few days later I noticed the weather readings seemed correct.

Just checked again and they are off from another local source. Will monitor to see if they stay the same for a long period of time.

But it looks like Comcast loses the update link to their weather source at least. If I remember correctly they use The Weather Channel(natural choice) and TWC may have issues with their database.

Queen Evie, I need to check out the LOCAL link to see how unimpressed I can be. Thanks for the update on your end.

 

Posted by
Regular Contributor
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.



Member Since: ‎05-14-2006
Posts: 40

Re: Local News/Local Forecast

Receive same message running Opera browser:

 

"You have entered an invalid ZIP code. Please re-enter and try again."

 

http://xfinity.comcast.net/

 

Thank you

Posted by
Regular Contributor
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.
  • On your way! Congrats on Posting 10 topics!



Member Since: ‎08-04-2006
Posts: 126

Local News - Invalid Zip Code

[ Edited ]

We are experiencing the same issues in Salem, Oregon as all of my fellow posters are describing. 

 

Is there a Comcast Official monitoring this problem, and if they are, please respond with a post as to what is being done to solve the issue........mick7

Posted by
Email Expert



Member Since: ‎06-30-2003
Posts: 8,394

Re: Local News/Local Forecast

[ Edited ]

FWIW I'm seeing the same problem so I suspect it's on the Comcast side.  I've asked the Comcast administrators to look into this situation.

 

mady

Honi soit qui mal y pense
Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!



Member Since: ‎05-22-2010
Posts: 1

Re: Local News - Invalid Zip Code

Here in Indiana, too.  No local news because "You have entered an invalid ZIP code. Please re-enter and try again."

 

Comcast/Xfinity, ARE YOU THERE?

Posted by
Official Employee



Member Since: ‎09-20-2011
Posts: 1,561

Re: Local News/Local Forecast

I am reporting this issue to our engineers to get this worked on and resolved quickly. Sorry for the inconvenience this may have caused you.

Thank You
-Keisha-
Posted by
Regular Contributor
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.



Member Since: ‎05-14-2006
Posts: 40

Re: Local News/Local Forecast

Thank you Keisha.  Please let me know if you need further details to help resolve the problem.

Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.



Member Since: ‎05-11-2006
Posts: 9

Re: Local News/Local Forecast

Posting to say that I see the same issue for the last 2 or 3 days in the Seattle area. In fact every zipcode I enter returns a response that the zip code is invalid and to enter a valid one. Really? you can't find Seattle or Everett or Lynnwood or Shoreline or Bellevue.

 

Seems like the page has been screwed up since they moved the weather widget from where it was above the mail icons on the right to the upper left of the page.

Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Great Job! Your reply has been accepted. Thank you for helping and Congrats on your 1st Solution.



Member Since: ‎10-14-2007
Posts: 11

Wrong location, can't find zip code

I have a problem with my location on my home page.  It doesn't show my location and when I try to change it, it comes up invalid and cannot find that zip code.  I have tried all the fixes listed in the forum and nothing works. I am using Firefox.  Any help would be appreciated. This has been going on for a couple of weeks now and I would like to resolve this issue.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!



Member Since: ‎11-12-2010
Posts: 4

Re: Wrong location, can't find zip code

I am using Internet Explorer and having the same problem, I like to check the local news on my home page and now it's impossible because of this message.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!



Member Since: ‎01-29-2012
Posts: 2

Re: Wrong location, can't find zip code

I can not access my local news.  I want to change the zip code and it won't allow me to?

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!



Member Since: ‎01-29-2012
Posts: 1

Re: Wrong location, can't find zip code

Same problem here.  This has been going on for the last three days.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!



Member Since: ‎01-18-2011
Posts: 1

Re: Wrong location, can't find zip code

Same here wont take my zip or any zips ...Is Comcast checking into this problem?

Posted by
Regular Contributor



Member Since: ‎06-06-2006
Posts: 388

Re: Wrong location, can't find zip code

Yesterday it took my real zipcode, today it won't take any and I live in Chicago, Illinois.....Hello Comcast.....Thenks Debbielou

GOD BLESS YOU PEOPLE, MANY WOULD BE LOST WITHOUT YOU, THANKYOU AGAIN!!!!!!!!
Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!



Member Since: ‎01-29-2012
Posts: 2

Re: Wrong location, can't find zip code

She states that now it doesn't work.  It did for the first time but not the second.

Posted by
Regular Contributor
Member Since: ‎12-15-2004
Posts: 28

Re: Local News/Local Forecast

[ Edited ]

The zip code/local news issue can be resolved by simply clicking on the weather icon that is at the top of your page (left side). From there you can set you preferred zip code, then you should see your local news feed display correctly (Mine did). Hope this helps.

 

Update: It seems that the the info is lost when you log out and sign back in. A fix is still needed.

Posted by
Silver Problem Solver



Member Since: ‎01-11-2010
Posts: 5,599

Re: Local News/Local Forecast

Could be more going on. I just checked the Comcast home page and the local NWS site for my location. Both are supposed to get the temp from the same geographic source locally.

There is a difference in readings.

So could it be the link to The Weather Channel; if the Comcast page uses that source, not updating all the time?

I know the local news link is for the nearest metro area to me so for me that is not useful.

 

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎11-30-2010
Posts: 8

Will Not Take Zip Code

Immediately comes up 'zip code invalid' ???

Not getting local news and no weather icon or temp displayed.

Seems to be a common complaint recently. Why can't this be straightened out??

C'mon Man!

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎02-08-2007
Posts: 3

Web Page

Why is the web page telling me my zip code is invalid all of a sudden?  It has never done it before and the USPS hasn't changed my zip code.

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎02-08-2007
Posts: 3

Re: Will Not Take Zip Code

Mine just started doing the same thing.  What is up with this and why has Comcast made their website so confusing that you can't get help correcting it? 

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!



Member Since: ‎06-13-2010
Posts: 1

Re: Will Not Take Zip Code

I am having the same problem - any info on how to fix?

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎02-08-2007
Posts: 3

Re: Will Not Take Zip Code

I can tell you I just wasted about 15 minutes on Comcast Chat to have them tell me they don't know what the problem is and that they are working on it.  Is it just me or does Comcast seem to get to be more troublesome as each day goes by?

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎01-26-2007
Posts: 2

Re: Will Not Take Zip Code

It is not just you.  I had a chat with a service rep and explained my problem 4 times.   Each time she asked me the same question.  Finally, she said,  "We show no problem".

 

So I guess if they say "no problem" and my problem is not fixed, then no problem means my problem is normal.

Posted by
Email Expert



Member Since: ‎06-30-2003
Posts: 8,394

Re: Wrong location, can't find zip code

Comcast is aware of the problem; see this thread.  And to avoid having multiple threads about the same thing I am locking this thread.

 

mady

Honi soit qui mal y pense
Posted by
Email Expert



Member Since: ‎06-30-2003
Posts: 8,394

Re: Will Not Take Zip Code

Comcast is aware of the problem; see this thread.  And to avoid having multiple threads about the same thing I am locking this thread.

 

mady

Honi soit qui mal y pense
Posted by
Silver Problem Solver



Member Since: ‎06-17-2008
Posts: 13,999

Re: Web Page

what web page are you referring to?  can you be more specific if you require assistance?

Posted by
Email Expert



Member Since: ‎06-30-2003
Posts: 8,394

Re: Web Page

Comcast is aware of the problem; see this thread.  And to avoid having multiple threads about the same thing I am locking this thread.

 

mady

Honi soit qui mal y pense
Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!



Member Since: ‎01-28-2012
Posts: 2

local news / zip code

still waiting for zip code 02122 in boston ma. to be found by comcast on their home page / local news. very slow + poor service

Posted by
Official Employee



Member Since: ‎08-11-2011
Posts: 6,907

Re: local news / zip code

Hi all,

 

Our team is currently working on this issue.

 

Once I learn more, I will update this thread.

 

Thank you to 

 

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!



Member Since: ‎02-11-2009
Posts: 1

Re: Local News/Local Forecast

My zip code doesn't work either. I have tried zip code from neigboring towns and they dont work .

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!



Member Since: ‎06-12-2010
Posts: 1

Zip Code Request

My Xfinity home page is asking me to enter my zipcode so that I can read my Local News.  I enter my zipcode in the box and it tells me that it is not a valid zipcode.........tried a neighboring zip code......same response.  What gives?  I am sure that my zipcode is STILL VALID!  I want my Local News.  Help

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!



Member Since: ‎01-30-2012
Posts: 3

Re: Zip Code Request

I have been having the same problem for two weeks. I know my zip code - why doesn't Comcast?

Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.



Member Since: ‎05-11-2006
Posts: 9

Re: Local News/Local Forecast

Thanks RaiderGame but that isn't the solution. The weather widget, for me, shows the correct zip and weather.

 

What doesn't work is the local news farther down the page and because it can't resolve the zip code it also does not display the correct TV programming info for my area.

Posted by
Visitor
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.



Member Since: ‎01-08-2009
Posts: 3

Re: Zip Code Request

Have been having the same problem. My zip code is no longer valid! Too bad no one let the Post Office know. Been having multiple problems with Comcast. If they didn't have a monopoly in my neighborhood, I'd switch to someone else.

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎11-30-2010
Posts: 8

Re: Local News/Local Forecast

[ Edited ]
  1. Zip code and local news issues seem to be resolved for me............for the time being. Still not able to get forecast or temp to display.
Posted by
Regular Contributor
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.



Member Since: ‎05-14-2006
Posts: 40

Re: Local News/Local Forecast

Experiencing same outcome in Pittsburgh.  Issue still not 100% resolved.

Posted by
Official Employee



Member Since: ‎08-11-2011
Posts: 6,907

Re: Local News/Local Forecast


brunman31 wrote:

Experiencing same outcome in Pittsburgh.  Issue still not 100% resolved.


What is your zip code? I will further look into this for you.

 

Thanks,
Joe
XfinityTV.com/Xfinity.com Support
Twitter: @XfinityTVJoe

Posted by
Regular Contributor
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.



Member Since: ‎05-14-2006
Posts: 40

Re: Local News/Local Forecast

Joe,

 

15220 - The problem seems to be intermittent now.  Thanks for your help.

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎11-30-2010
Posts: 8

Re: Local News/Local Forecast

Still not getting weather icon or temp to display.

How can I fix this?

Posted by
Official Employee



Member Since: ‎08-11-2011
Posts: 6,907

Re: Local News/Local Forecast


brunman31 wrote:

Joe,

 

15220 - The problem seems to be intermittent now.  Thanks for your help.


I am looking at your zip code now and everything seems to be correct. Since you said the problem is intermittent, I will keep an eye on it.

 

 

 


rupe6552 wrote:

Still not getting weather icon or temp to display.

How can I fix this?



It has now moved to the left of the Search bar.
If it still does not work, try using a different web browser and let me know if it works. This is not a permanent solution but it will help us narrow down your issue.
Thanks,
Joe
XfinityTV.com/Xfinity.com Support
Twitter: @XfinityTVJoe
Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎11-30-2010
Posts: 8

Re: Local News/Local Forecast

I do get the weather icon and temp displayed using Firefox, But not with IE.

Advanced
You must be signed in to add attachments