Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,518,292

members

64

online now

1,719,030

discussions

Back to Top

Error 1001

Posted by
Frequent Visitor

Member Since: ‎02-20-2012
Posts: 14
Message 1 of 18 (2,536 Views)

Error 1001

Keep getting this same message: 

 

We have detected a problem with your Microsoft Silverlight installation (Error 1001). To fix this problem please uninstall and reinstall Microsoft Silverlight.

17 REPLIES
Posted by
Frequent Visitor

Member Since: ‎02-20-2012
Posts: 14
Message 2 of 18 (2,522 Views)

Re: Error 1001

My Zip Code:37122My Cable Provider:Comcast Nashville CableCardMy myDVR Manager Status:My Set Top Box Names:My Queue setup:FalseFacebook Queue Syncing:FalseFacebook Connect:FalseMy public IP address:64.3.208.90My operating system:Windows - UndefinedMy web browser:Chrome 17 - Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64) AppleWebKit/535.11 (KHTML, Like Gecko) Chrome/17.0.963.56 Safari/535.11My system typeesktop Computer Or Other DeviceMy Move player version:071706000001My Silverlight version:5.0.61118.0My flash version:11.1 R102Javascript:EnabledCookies:Enabled

Posted by
Official Employee

Member Since: ‎08-11-2011
Posts: 6,909
Message 3 of 18 (2,519 Views)

Re: Error 1001


gigisyes wrote:

My Zip Code:37122My Cable Provider:Comcast Nashville CableCardMy myDVR Manager Status:My Set Top Box Names:My Queue setup:FalseFacebook Queue Syncing:FalseFacebook Connect:FalseMy public IP address:64.3.208.90My operating system:Windows - UndefinedMy web browser:Chrome 17 - Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64) AppleWebKit/535.11 (KHTML, Like Gecko) Chrome/17.0.963.56 Safari/535.11My system typeesktop Computer Or Other DeviceMy Move player version:071706000001My Silverlight version:5.0.61118.0My flash version:11.1 R102Javascript:EnabledCookies:Enabled


Have you tried un-installing and then reinstalling Silverlight? If so, are you still getting a Error 1001?

 

Go here for step-by-step instructions for reinstalling Silverlight:

 

http://xfinitytv.comcast.net/help/technical-support/xfinity-tv-player/#silverlight-reinstall

 

Thanks,
Joe
XfinityTV.com/Xfinity.com Support
Twitter: @XfinityTVJoe

Posted by
Frequent Visitor

Member Since: ‎02-20-2012
Posts: 14
Message 4 of 18 (2,487 Views)

Re: Error 1001

Yes.  Uninstalled and reinstalled several times.  I even tried to find an older version but it told me to upgrade so I reinstalled Silverlight.  I've emptied my browser cashe.

Posted by
Official Employee

Member Since: ‎08-11-2011
Posts: 6,909
Message 5 of 18 (2,482 Views)

Re: Error 1001


gigisyes wrote:

Yes.  Uninstalled and reinstalled several times.  I even tried to find an older version but it told me to upgrade so I reinstalled Silverlight.  I've emptied my browser cashe.


Try using Firefox or Safari web browsers and then try watching videos again. This is not a permanent solution but it will help us narrow down your issue.

 

Thanks,
Joe
XfinityTV.com/Xfinity.com Support
Twitter: @XfinityTVJoe

Posted by
Frequent Visitor

Member Since: ‎02-20-2012
Posts: 14
Message 6 of 18 (2,476 Views)

Re: Error 1001

Same Error with Firefox.

 

Got this error with Safari:

 

Xfinity Video Player Upgrade

Upgrade your Xfinity Player!

In order to watch On Demand Online videos with "HD-Like" picture quality, you need to install the new Xfinity Player

We're sorry, but for watching On Demand Online videos the following browsers are NOT officially supported at this time:

  • Windows XP: Safari 3/4
  • Windows Vista: IE 6, Safari 3/4
  • Windows 7: IE 6/7, Safari 3/4
  • Mac OS 10.4.11+: IE 6/7/8, Chrome 4
Highlighted
Posted by
Official Employee

Member Since: ‎08-11-2011
Posts: 6,909
Message 7 of 18 (2,474 Views)

Re: Error 1001


gigisyes wrote:

Same Error with Firefox.

 

Got this error with Safari:

 

Xfinity Video Player Upgrade

Upgrade your Xfinity Player!

In order to watch On Demand Online videos with "HD-Like" picture quality, you need to install the new Xfinity Player

We're sorry, but for watching On Demand Online videos the following browsers are NOT officially supported at this time:

  • Windows XP: Safari 3/4
  • Windows Vista: IE 6, Safari 3/4
  • Windows 7: IE 6/7, Safari 3/4
  • Mac OS 10.4.11+: IE 6/7/8, Chrome 4

What version of Firefox are you using? Is it the 32-bit or 64-bit?

 

Thanks,
Joe
XfinityTV.com/Xfinity.com Support
Twitter: @XfinityTVJoe

Posted by
Frequent Visitor

Member Since: ‎02-20-2012
Posts: 14
Message 8 of 18 (2,471 Views)

Re: Error 1001

64

Posted by
Official Employee

Member Since: ‎08-11-2011
Posts: 6,909
Message 9 of 18 (2,461 Views)

Re: Error 1001


gigisyes wrote:

64


I am sorry but 64-bit browsers are not fully compatible. Please use the 32-bit version of Firefox and try again.

 

Thanks,
Joe
XfinityTV.com/Xfinity.com Support
Twitter: @XfinityTVJoe

Posted by
Frequent Visitor

Member Since: ‎02-20-2012
Posts: 14
Message 10 of 18 (2,454 Views)

Re: Error 1001

It now gets to starting playback and never starts.

Posted by
Official Employee

Member Since: ‎08-11-2011
Posts: 6,909
Message 11 of 18 (2,445 Views)

Re: Error 1001


gigisyes wrote:

It now gets to starting playback and never starts.


Try deleting your cookies and cache in Firefox and then try again.

 

Also, make sure that you add xfinitytv.com as an exception through your firewall.

 

Thanks,
Joe
XfinityTV.com/Xfinity.com Support
Twitter: @XfinityTVJoe

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎02-28-2012
Posts: 1
Message 12 of 18 (2,443 Views)

Re: Error 1001

I keep getting this too only when I try to play true blood.

Posted by
Frequent Visitor

Member Since: ‎02-20-2012
Posts: 14
Message 13 of 18 (2,435 Views)

Re: Error 1001

Couldn't find Firefox in 32 bit but I did find Avant in 32.  

Posted by
Official Employee

Member Since: ‎08-11-2011
Posts: 6,909
Message 14 of 18 (2,433 Views)

Re: Error 1001


gigisyes wrote:

Couldn't find Firefox in 32 bit but I did find Avant in 32.  


There is no official version of Firefox available in 64-bit from Mozilla. You can download the 32-bit version here:

 

http://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/new

 

Avant is not a fully compatible browser but what happened when you tried it?

 

Thanks,
Joe
XfinityTV.com/Xfinity.com Support
Twitter: @XfinityTVJoe

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎04-30-2012
Posts: 1
Message 15 of 18 (2,272 Views)

Re: Error 1001

I have been getting the same problem.  I have reinstalled silverlight several times, reinstalled chrome, IE and firefox and still getting the same problem.  Has anyone found a real solution to this because comcast help's suggestions have gotten me nowhere and I am really started to become frustrated.  

Posted by
Official Employee

Member Since: ‎08-11-2011
Posts: 6,909
Message 16 of 18 (2,267 Views)

Re: Error 1001


Smalvey2289 wrote:

I have been getting the same problem.  I have reinstalled silverlight several times, reinstalled chrome, IE and firefox and still getting the same problem.  Has anyone found a real solution to this because comcast help's suggestions have gotten me nowhere and I am really started to become frustrated.  


Make sure you have added Xfinitytv.com and Xfinity.com as trusted sites.

 

Also, delete all files and settings stored by add-ons and then try again.

 

Thanks,
Joe
XfinityTV.com/Xfinity.com Support
Twitter: @XfinityTVJoe

Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎05-12-2012
Posts: 6
Message 17 of 18 (2,231 Views)

Error 1001

Using Win7, 32bit IE, with latest version of flash and silverlight.

 

I keep getting error 1001 when I try to play movies. Per the help notes, I have un-installed and re-installed silverlight at least 10 times and have not been able to get past this error message.

 

Any ideas?

Thks..

Posted by
Silver Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎06-17-2008
Posts: 13,999
Message 18 of 18 (2,228 Views)

Re: Error 1001

see this thread for more ideas.  That error seems to be a silverlight error or a firewall error.  When you uninstalled silverlight did you clear your cookies and cache and then resinstall?  There are instructions in that thread how to do it the correct way.  Also try disabling your antivirus and firewall and then try it.  There are so many different things that can cause this it hard to say with millions of different people having hundreds of millions of programs on pc's.  Also trying a different browser cant hurt.

 

http://forums.comcast.com/t5/XfinityTV-Website/Error-1001/m-p/1203287#M3879