Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,610,948

members

45

online now

1,792,684

discussions

Back to Top

Netflix on X1

Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎11-22-2014
Posts: 5
Message 401 of 434 (2,075 Views)

Re: Update Netflix password in X1 system

Clicking on forgot password worked on one tv, but second one I still can't sign in to.  Is it only allowed on one box/tv?

Posted by
Service Expert

Member Since: ‎10-22-2012
Posts: 7,067
Message 402 of 434 (2,071 Views)

Re: Update Netflix password in X1 system


CAFlyer wrote:

Clicking on forgot password worked on one tv, but second one I still can't sign in to.  Is it only allowed on one box/tv?


do you get a login screen on the X1 that you can't log in to the netflix account?




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎11-08-2008
Posts: 2
Message 403 of 434 (2,066 Views)

Re: Update Netflix password in X1 system

Any particular reason I reset my x1 box and the netflix app disappeared?

Posted by
Service Expert

Member Since: ‎10-22-2012
Posts: 7,067
Message 404 of 434 (2,055 Views)

Re: Update Netflix password in X1 system


bhill1983 wrote:

Any particular reason I reset my x1 box and the netflix app disappeared?


The X1 app appears on all current X1 equipment except HD STB RNG150. 




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎10-27-2013
Posts: 0
Message 405 of 434 (2,053 Views)

Re: Update Netflix password in X1 system

I am having the same issue.  Your answer makes no sense.  Why would I have had Netflix on my box yesterday and then today, when trying to use it, it's not there?  

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎11-08-2008
Posts: 2
Message 406 of 434 (2,051 Views)

Re: Update Netflix password in X1 system

Not sure I rebooted it the third time and it reappeared, but it had completely vanished before hand any known reason as to what would cause this?

Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎11-22-2014
Posts: 5
Message 407 of 434 (2,033 Views)

Re: Update Netflix password in X1 system

No, just the spinning red thing.

Posted by
Service Expert

Member Since: ‎10-22-2012
Posts: 7,067
Message 408 of 434 (1,988 Views)

Re: Update Netflix password in X1 system


CAFlyer wrote:

No, just the spinning red thing.


you might want to call 877-896-8678 and ask the X1 service representative to run signal diagnostics on your X1 equipment.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎01-17-2017
Posts: 1
Message 409 of 434 (1,743 Views)

Netflix problem

All of a sudden, as of maybe 3-4 days ago, I can't use the Netflix app. When I select it I'm given a message saying that Xfinity Internet is required and that I need to head to the Xfinity website and select Shop/Upgrade. This makes no sense at all since I already have internet access. In fact I'm using it right now to post this. Is there a fix for this?

Posted by
Service Expert

Member Since: ‎10-22-2012
Posts: 7,067
Message 410 of 434 (1,721 Views)

Re: Netflix problem


Isudimak wrote:

All of a sudden, as of maybe 3-4 days ago, I can't use the Netflix app. When I select it I'm given a message saying that Xfinity Internet is required and that I need to head to the Xfinity website and select Shop/Upgrade. This makes no sense at all since I already have internet access. In fact I'm using it right now to post this. Is there a fix for this?


call 800-Comcast and select billing. Ask the representative to check to see if your internet service is assigned to an active 'outlet'.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎12-02-2014
Posts: 4
Message 411 of 434 (1,675 Views)

Re: Netflix on X1

I received the boxes to exchange so I can get Netflix on all 4 of my tv's (currently only the main box has it available).  However, the boxes that I've received are so much smaller than the boxes I currently have.  Are these boxes to be added in addition to what I already have, or in place of?  I've been trying to get onto live chat for a while, even though they said it'd be 3 minutes, it's been much longer.  

Thanks for any help you can provide.  I'm very technologically challenged.

Posted by
Official Employee

Member Since: ‎10-04-2008
Posts: 10,203
Message 412 of 434 (1,664 Views)

Re: Netflix on X1

They are to be replacing your present boxes ( not the dvr)



Community Icon
I am an Official Comcast Employee.
Official Employees are from multiple teams within Comcast: Product, Support, Leadership.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am an Offical Comcast Employee.
Official Employees are from multiple teams within Comcast.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am a Comcast Employee.
Please post so people with similar questions may benefit.
Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎01-19-2017
Posts: 1
Message 413 of 434 (1,685 Views)

Netflix

How do I connect my Netflix account to my XFINITY box?
Posted by
Official Employee

Member Since: ‎10-04-2008
Posts: 10,203
Message 414 of 434 (1,680 Views)

Re: Netflix

Go to the Apps section of the X1 box, click on the Netflix app, and click on sign in and enter your credentials.

If you have an RNG 150, you'll be prompted to swap your box



Community Icon
I am an Official Comcast Employee.
Official Employees are from multiple teams within Comcast: Product, Support, Leadership.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am an Offical Comcast Employee.
Official Employees are from multiple teams within Comcast.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am a Comcast Employee.
Please post so people with similar questions may benefit.
Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎04-12-2011
Posts: 1
Message 415 of 434 (1,523 Views)

Re: Netflix Beta Program on X1

I did the same and it still doesn't work.

Posted by
Service Expert

Member Since: ‎08-19-2009
Posts: 7,218
Message 416 of 434 (1,511 Views)

Re: Netflix Beta Program on X1


marshall5681 wrote:

I did the same and it still doesn't work.


Do you have a Netflix account?  I already had one and X1 connected to it ok.

 

https://customer.xfinity.com/help-and-support/cable-tv/sign-in-netflix-x1-app




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon

Posted by
Official Employee

Member Since: ‎10-04-2008
Posts: 10,203
Message 417 of 434 (1,505 Views)

Re: Netflix Beta Program on X1


I did the same and it still doesn't work.
____________________

A little more info, how far do you get? Do you get to log in? You didn't quote anyone so nobody knows what "the same" means.



Community Icon
I am an Official Comcast Employee.
Official Employees are from multiple teams within Comcast: Product, Support, Leadership.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am an Offical Comcast Employee.
Official Employees are from multiple teams within Comcast.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am a Comcast Employee.
Please post so people with similar questions may benefit.
Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon
Posted by
Frequent Visitor

Member Since: ‎06-22-2014
Posts: 13
Message 418 of 434 (1,412 Views)

Re: Netflix on X1

I'm having exactly the same problem.  HDMI out of the X1 to a Monoprice switcher, then Optical audio cable to my legacy Pioneer Surround Sound receiver.  Works fine on with regular Xfinity Channels, as well as audio from my Blue Ray player and Apple TV (I get Dolby Digital 5.1).  But Netflix on the X1 box, set to 5.1...no audio unless I switch the output to Stereo.  Also notice the same problem on some Xfinity on demand movies coming from the X1.  Is the audio format on some program material different?

Posted by
Visitor
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎02-04-2017
Posts: 1
Message 419 of 434 (1,282 Views)

Re: Netflix on X1

I am having the same problem of having no audio output on Netflix when the Netflix program audio is not in Dolby Digital 5.1. My X1 box is connected to my Bose Surround Sound with an HDMI cable and the X1 box HDMI Audio Output is set to "Auto Detect (Dolby Digital 5.1)." Has a fix for this problem been posted, if so I can't find it.  Thank you.

Posted by
Service Expert

Member Since: ‎10-22-2012
Posts: 7,067
Message 420 of 434 (1,147 Views)
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎04-16-2015
Posts: 4
Message 421 of 434 (1,117 Views)

Re: Netflix on X1

my main cable box is able to access netflix but my 'slave' cable boxes arent able to. spent over 5 hours with support staff and chatting with netflix staff and no solution has been found. when i launch the netflix app the netflix logo is displayed then a ui-800-2 error is displayed. ive asked if netflix is supposed to work in this set-up. have been told by a store associate; yes plug and play should be a problem. the netflix person said there is a bug in the app and thats the reason it doesnt work. a comcast person said it shouldnt work with this set-up.

 

bottom line, it doesnt work for me and no one has proposed a solution. waiting for a call back with a resolution. any thoughts?????

Posted by
Official Employee

Member Since: ‎10-04-2008
Posts: 10,203
Message 422 of 434 (1,110 Views)

Re: Netflix on X1


cdeanv wrote:

my main cable box is able to access netflix but my 'slave' cable boxes arent able to. spent over 5 hours with support staff and chatting with netflix staff and no solution has been found. when i launch the netflix app the netflix logo is displayed then a ui-800-2 error is displayed. ive asked if netflix is supposed to work in this set-up. have been told by a store associate; yes plug and play should be a problem. the netflix person said there is a bug in the app and thats the reason it doesnt work. a comcast person said it shouldnt work with this set-up.

 

bottom line, it doesnt work for me and no one has proposed a solution. waiting for a call back with a resolution. any thoughts?????


That is a new error code, there's no ETA on a fix, I'd swap the box out.




Community Icon
I am an Official Comcast Employee.
Official Employees are from multiple teams within Comcast: Product, Support, Leadership.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am an Offical Comcast Employee.
Official Employees are from multiple teams within Comcast.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am a Comcast Employee.
Please post so people with similar questions may benefit.
Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎04-16-2015
Posts: 4
Message 423 of 434 (1,094 Views)

Re: Netflix on X1ticket i

already swapped the boxes out as suggested by comcast support. did that saturday morning.  issue continues and after speaking with several different support people we agreed to open a ticket to tier 3 support. i'm waiting on a call back for the ticket i've opened.

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎02-13-2017
Posts: 1
Message 424 of 434 (1,080 Views)

Netflix account accessing

How do I access my Netflix account that I got through Xfinity on other devices? I am do not know how to do this and I can't find anything searching through the forums that is helpful. I even went to the Netflix website and tried to log in there, my email address didn't work and when I tried to bring it up through phone number or any other option with there isn't an account that exists with any of that information

Posted by
Service Expert

Member Since: ‎10-22-2012
Posts: 7,067
Message 425 of 434 (1,061 Views)

Re: Netflix account accessing

Neflix account help link https://help.netflix.com/browse/en/130?ui_action=see-all-popular-categories

 

phone help: 1-866-579-7172




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon

Posted by
Frequent Visitor

Member Since: ‎06-22-2014
Posts: 13
Message 426 of 434 (935 Views)

Re: Netflix on X1

What I learned is that the Netflix app on the X1 outputs Dolby Digital+, not regular Dolby Digital.  My monoprice switcher seemed to have a problem passing DD+ to my older Pioneer DD receiver (via optical cable) in a format that it understood.  Nothing I tried worked, although, if I connected the optical cable directly from the X1 box to the receiver, it worked fine.  So, I replaced the old Pioneer receiver with a new Onkyo that has HDMI inputs.  All is well after that. 

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎04-16-2015
Posts: 4
Message 427 of 434 (905 Views)

Re: Netflix on X1ticket i

after speaking to tier 3, i was immediately told this is a known issue. if thats the case why arent the front line support staff told this so i didnt waste 7+ hours with support trying to resolve this issue. seems like that would be meaningful information for those people to know. i just tried netflix this morning and it appears to be working now. but, no one from xfinity called to let me know. i did get a call a few days ago letting me know my issue is. known error.

Posted by
Regular Contributor

Member Since: ‎08-10-2014
Posts: 153
Message 428 of 434 (791 Views)

Re: Netflix on X1


cdeanv wrote:

my main cable box is able to access netflix but my 'slave' cable boxes arent able to. spent over 5 hours with support staff and chatting with netflix staff and no solution has been found. when i launch the netflix app the netflix logo is displayed then a ui-800-2 error is displayed. ive asked if netflix is supposed to work in this set-up. have been told by a store associate; yes plug and play should be a problem. the netflix person said there is a bug in the app and thats the reason it doesnt work. a comcast person said it shouldnt work with this set-up.

 

bottom line, it doesnt work for me and no one has proposed a solution. waiting for a call back with a resolution. any thoughts?????


According to netflix the box needs a refresh:

https://help.netflix.com/en/node/22213

Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎02-26-2017
Posts: 5
Message 429 of 434 (757 Views)

Re: Netflix on X1

I can no longer connect to netflix on my x1 box.  It worked great for about a month then stopped yesterday.  I get the error nw-2-5. I chatted with Comcast yesterday and their fixes which consisted of data synchronization and resetting my box did not work.  I was escalated to a tier 2 ticket.  My netflix account works fine on other devices.  Also, a friend is having the exact same issue with their account and their x1 box.  any ideas???

Posted by
Service Expert

Member Since: ‎10-22-2012
Posts: 7,067
Message 430 of 434 (744 Views)

Re: Netflix on X1


Marielle125 wrote:

I can no longer connect to netflix on my x1 box.  It worked great for about a month then stopped yesterday.  I get the error nw-2-5. I chatted with Comcast yesterday and their fixes which consisted of data synchronization and resetting my box did not work.  I was escalated to a tier 2 ticket.  My netflix account works fine on other devices.  Also, a friend is having the exact same issue with their account and their x1 box.  any ideas???


it is probably a temporary network issue. a google search for the error shows it is a dns error locally that prevents netflix from working. I know that this post is not a fix but it gives something to look into for the issue. Do you have any other X1 set top box in the home?




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon

Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎02-26-2017
Posts: 5
Message 431 of 434 (718 Views)

Re: Netflix on X1

I do not have any other x1 boxes in my home.  Comcast called this morning and said the issue had been resolved, which it was for about 4 hours BUT now I'm getting the same error again.

Posted by
Service Expert

Member Since: ‎08-02-2013
Posts: 12,592
Message 432 of 434 (671 Views)

Re: Netflix will be offered on Comcast X1 platform

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎10-03-2016
Posts: 3
Message 433 of 434 (63 Views)

Netflix for X1 does not remember my username and password

When logging in, the option to remember my email address is checked, but every day or two I need to enter my email and password all over again. I suspect this is a bug introduced in a recent update because this only started in the last couple of weeks. None of my other Netflix capable boxes have this problem. 

 

Is there a fix for this in the works?

Posted by
Service Expert

Member Since: ‎10-22-2012
Posts: 7,067
Message 434 of 434 (28 Views)

Re: Netflix for X1 does not remember my username and password


x-legs wrote:

When logging in, the option to remember my email address is checked, but every day or two I need to enter my email and password all over again. I suspect this is a bug introduced in a recent update because this only started in the last couple of weeks. None of my other Netflix capable boxes have this problem. 

 

Is there a fix for this in the works?


hi, I moved your post to the Netflix X1 app thread. The issue you are experiencing is not caused nor related to Comcast but to Netflix. The registration to Netflix appears to be by device ID. You might contact Netflix and determine why the device stops being authorized.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon