New to the Community? Start here.

members

online now

discussions

Alexa

ANSWERED
Regular Visitor

Alexa

Can I change the channel on the x1 box with elexa harmony or ifttt?

I can turn the tv on and off but that is all.

bob 130

Accepted Solution

Re: Alexa

Too many words.

"Alexa, channel 5" should be sufficient.

View answer in context
Service Expert

Bob130 wrote:

bob 130 

no discussion about it so far from Comcast employees. I have an echo and and a dot not sure it would be as good as the voice remote.

Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon

Gold Problem Solver

I suspect it is coming. The big players in audio video control systems (such as Control4) already have Alexa drivers.

HOWEVER, I am not super familiar with Alexa but I doubt it would control a cable box such as X1 without additional 3rd party devices involved (because X1 boxes only receive IR commands from 3rd party devices).

A newer Harmony remote with a "Harmony Hub" would work (as long as everything is properly installed and programmed).

Bob130 wrote:

bob 130

Regular Visitor

Thanks for your reply rickgr4.
If anyone gets this to work please let me know.
Bob130
Gold Problem Solver

Please reread my post. I updated it.