Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
You can contribute an answer or post a question.
Reply
Posted by
Regular Contributor
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.
  • Great Job! Your reply has been accepted. Thank you for helping and Congrats on your 1st Solution.



Member Since: ‎01-16-2010
Posts: 28
Accepted Solution

Setup VOIP via Comcast

Hi guys,

 

 

This is my first time to post on the forums.

 

I hope I am on the right thread/category.

 

 

Just a quick question:

 

1. Is Comcast compatible with VOIP?

 

2. If yes, how do we setup VOIP from the scratch?

 

I tried searching around for the answer but no avail.

 

 

 

 

Thanks a lot!

 

 

From me and my friend.

 

Posted by
Email Expert



Member Since: ‎04-27-2004
Posts: 18,241

Re: Setup VOIP via Comcast

Yes, Comcast is compatible with VOIP services like Vonage and Skype. Just follow the instructions of whatever service you sign up with.
Posted by
Regular Contributor
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.
  • Great Job! Your reply has been accepted. Thank you for helping and Congrats on your 1st Solution.



Member Since: ‎01-16-2010
Posts: 28

Re: Setup VOIP via Comcast

Thank you for the response, Barmar.

 

Using CDV (Comcast Digital Voice), would also work?

 

 

or is it only available for VOIP enabled phones?

 

 

Thanks!

Posted by
Connection Expert



Member Since: ‎09-29-2007
Posts: 6,438

Re: Setup VOIP via Comcast

Cdv works nicely with Corded phones and Cordless phone systems.

 

Posted by
Email Expert



Member Since: ‎04-27-2004
Posts: 18,241

Re: Setup VOIP via Comcast

CDV provides an ordinary phone jack on the modem, and you either plug a phone into it or connect it to your home's phone wiring. As far as you're concerned, it's just like ordinary phone service. It uses VOIP on the network, but it's just an implementation detail that's transparent to customers.
Posted by
Regular Contributor
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.
  • Great Job! Your reply has been accepted. Thank you for helping and Congrats on your 1st Solution.



Member Since: ‎01-16-2010
Posts: 28

Re: Setup VOIP via Comcast

Thank you JMCS and Barmar!

 

I am enlightened!

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!



Member Since: ‎03-02-2009
Posts: 1

Re: Setup VOIP via Comcast

Is VOIP via Comcast possible with Xlite

Posted by
Connection Expert



Member Since: ‎09-29-2007
Posts: 6,438

Re: Setup VOIP via Comcast

I think so

can yougooogle "x-lite  comcast" for discussions on your issue?

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!



Member Since: ‎05-02-2011
Posts: 2

Re: Setup VOIP via Comcast

 
Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!



Member Since: ‎05-02-2011
Posts: 2

Re: Setup VOIP via Comcast

Any answers on the 1st post question - VOIP via Comcast? Any compatible Linux. free PBX?
Any info?
Posted by
Connection Expert



Member Since: ‎09-29-2007
Posts: 6,438

Re: Setup VOIP via Comcast


2netsolution wrote:
Any answers on the 1st post question - VOIP via Comcast? Any compatible Linux. free PBX?
Any info?

Yes, if you google or bing x-lite comcast and hit enter there is alot of information there.

Advanced
You must be signed in to add attachments