Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,467,452

members

41

online now

1,692,263

discussions

Setup VOIP via Comcast

SOLVED
Posted by
Contributor

Member Since: ‎01-16-2010
Posts: 28
Message 1 of 11 (2,888 Views)

Setup VOIP via Comcast

Hi guys,

 

 

This is my first time to post on the forums.

 

I hope I am on the right thread/category.

 

 

Just a quick question:

 

1. Is Comcast compatible with VOIP?

 

2. If yes, how do we setup VOIP from the scratch?

 

I tried searching around for the answer but no avail.

 

 

 

 

Thanks a lot!

 

 

From me and my friend.

 

10 REPLIES
Posted by
Email Expert

Member Since: ‎04-27-2004
Posts: 18,242
Message 2 of 11 (2,886 Views)

Re: Setup VOIP via Comcast

Yes, Comcast is compatible with VOIP services like Vonage and Skype. Just follow the instructions of whatever service you sign up with.
Posted by
Contributor

Member Since: ‎01-16-2010
Posts: 28
Message 3 of 11 (2,877 Views)

Re: Setup VOIP via Comcast

Thank you for the response, Barmar.

 

Using CDV (Comcast Digital Voice), would also work?

 

 

or is it only available for VOIP enabled phones?

 

 

Thanks!

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎09-29-2007
Posts: 6,441
Message 4 of 11 (2,875 Views)

Re: Setup VOIP via Comcast

Cdv works nicely with Corded phones and Cordless phone systems.

 

Posted by
Email Expert

Member Since: ‎04-27-2004
Posts: 18,242
Message 5 of 11 (3,328 Views)

Re: Setup VOIP via Comcast

CDV provides an ordinary phone jack on the modem, and you either plug a phone into it or connect it to your home's phone wiring. As far as you're concerned, it's just like ordinary phone service. It uses VOIP on the network, but it's just an implementation detail that's transparent to customers.
Posted by
Contributor

Member Since: ‎01-16-2010
Posts: 28
Message 6 of 11 (2,872 Views)

Re: Setup VOIP via Comcast

Thank you JMCS and Barmar!

 

I am enlightened!

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎03-02-2009
Posts: 1
Message 7 of 11 (2,605 Views)

Re: Setup VOIP via Comcast

Is VOIP via Comcast possible with Xlite

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎09-29-2007
Posts: 6,441
Message 8 of 11 (2,595 Views)

Re: Setup VOIP via Comcast

I think so

can yougooogle "x-lite  comcast" for discussions on your issue?

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎05-02-2011
Posts: 2
Message 9 of 11 (2,509 Views)

Re: Setup VOIP via Comcast

 
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎05-02-2011
Posts: 2
Message 10 of 11 (2,508 Views)

Re: Setup VOIP via Comcast

Any answers on the 1st post question - VOIP via Comcast? Any compatible Linux. free PBX?
Any info?
Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎09-29-2007
Posts: 6,441
Message 11 of 11 (2,486 Views)

Re: Setup VOIP via Comcast


2netsolution wrote:
Any answers on the 1st post question - VOIP via Comcast? Any compatible Linux. free PBX?
Any info?

Yes, if you google or bing x-lite comcast and hit enter there is alot of information there.