Welcome to Xfinity Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

members

topics

HD channels are playing jerky/un-smooth

Frequent Visitor

HD channels are playing jerky/un-smooth

I just got the 65" Sony Bravia XBR65X900E tv, which is a 4K ultra hi def tv. It replaced a 20 year old tv, so I never watched hi-def channels before, and I have NO technical knowledge about such things. I have the ComCast hi-def box however, and am using an HDMI cable. Everything was set up by the Best Buy Geek Squad people, and they seemed to know what they were doing. However, I see that none of the regular channels seem to play clearly now. They are stretched (which can be corrected with an aspect setting on the tv), and are also coming through now as less sharp. Some of the hd channels look great, like sports and news channels (but commercials on those channels do not play well). Most other hd channels are what I would describe as overly digitized. Turner Classic Movies is my favorite channel, but the hd channel plays in a overly enhanced, jerky kind of way. There is no smooth motion. Any scenes with faster motion, like running or quicker camera pans are almost nausiating to watch. I've even had family members tell me they feel like they have motion sickness after watching for a few minutes. So, somthing is just out of sync. I don't know what the problem can be. The tv people have told me that it is a signal issue from the provider (Comcast). The tv plays dvd's just fine, along with YouTube, etc. Can anyone help me on this? I don't know what the actual difference is between regular channels and hd channels, but if this is a Comcast signal issue, I will be forced to switch away, which I would rather not do. Thanks!

Marc

Problem Solver

Re: HD channels are playing jerky/un-smooth

It could be comcast brodcasts 1080p channels in 720p 60 FPS