Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,466,000

members

51

online now

1,690,865

discussions

i need pin for norton to run norton bootable recovery tool

Posted by
Visitor
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎09-28-2011
Posts: 2
Message 1 of 6 (4,680 Views)

i need pin for norton to run norton bootable recovery tool

I need pin for norton to run norton bootable recovery tool

5 REPLIES
Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎06-30-2003
Posts: 7,155
Message 2 of 6 (4,675 Views)

Re: i need pin for norton to run norton bootable recovery tool

it maybe found here

  • In Windows 7 or Windows Vista: C:\Users\ your user name\Documents\Symantec\Norton Security_PIN.txt

Posted by
Security Expert

Member Since: ‎10-28-2003
Posts: 6,150
Message 3 of 6 (4,668 Views)

Re: i need pin for norton to run norton bootable recovery tool

Just wanted to add the following in case you are running XP:

 

In Windows XP: C:\Documents and Settings\\My Documents\Symantec\Norton Security_PIN.txt

A veteran - whether active duty, retired, national guard, or reserve - is someone who, at one point in his or her life, wrote a blank check made payable to The 'United States of America', for an amount of 'up to and including my life.'

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎04-21-2012
Posts: 2
Message 4 of 6 (3,851 Views)

Re: i need pin for norton to run norton bootable recovery tool

Tried that but when i click "agree" it wont do anything

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎04-21-2012
Posts: 2
Message 5 of 6 (3,850 Views)

Re: i need pin for norton to run norton bootable recovery tool

I also have the Win7 version....BUT the pc I am trying to recover has XP with constant guard already in it

Posted by
Security Expert

Member Since: ‎10-28-2003
Posts: 6,150
Message 6 of 6 (3,836 Views)

Re: i need pin for norton to run norton bootable recovery tool


Strife01104 wrote:

Tried that but when i click "agree" it wont do anything



Strife01104 wrote:

I also have the Win7 version....BUT the pc I am trying to recover has XP with constant guard already in it


You lost me with your last two posts.  Can you explain what you are experiencing?  Have you in fact created the NBRT per these instructions:

 

http://security.symantec.com/nbrt/nbrt.aspx

 

Ensure you use the download on the left "from ISP" which requires a PIN rather then the one on the right for commercial editions which requires a Product Key.

 

 

 

A veteran - whether active duty, retired, national guard, or reserve - is someone who, at one point in his or her life, wrote a blank check made payable to The 'United States of America', for an amount of 'up to and including my life.'