Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

Backup battery not included

New Poster

Backup battery not included

I understand that I need to upgrade my voice/internet modem and this equipment is free of charge, but the backup battery has to be purchased. I have been leasing the modem with battery backup for about 9 years, we live in the country, where power outages are fairly common in the winter. Cell service isn't great, we still have a little over a year left on a contract that when we agreed to it we were promised the price would not go up. We are both in our 60's and unless we cough up the additional cost for the back up battery, we will have to walk 1/4 mile to neighbors house to use phone if power is out and we have some sort of emergency. Doesn't seem fair or justified. Probably won't upgrade until we absolutely have to.
Silver Problem Solver

Re: Backup battery not included

You can get the batteries cheaper on ebay and other 2nd hand sites, or you can just buy a UPS or a generator and plug the modem into that instead to accomplish the same thing, and those would power other devices too, so wouold probably be a better investment in the long run anyway.

But it's better to replace the modem now, and be without service for only a few minutes while activating, than replacing the modem later when Comcast stops allowing D2 modems to be used, and be without service for a few days.

Frequent Visitor

Chances are that if you've been using the equipment for 9 years and haven't changed the battery, it's not going to work for you.  Batteries, depending on type, may only last for 2-3 years. 

If you want to be sure the backup will be there when you need it, you should test the battery by disconnecting the AC power and seeing how long you can still use the phone.

Regular Visitor