Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,515,006

members

86

online now

1,715,464

discussions

Back to Top

digital adapter

4 REPLIES
Posted by
Edited on
‎04-12-2011 09:31 PM

Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎03-02-2007
Posts: 17,739
Message 1 of 5 (938 Views)

Re: digital adapter

[ Edited ]

Since these DTA's were designed for older analog cable ready TV's, to use on a HD set to continue to receive your local channels in HD, you need to add a splitter and A/B switch.

 

Instructions and diagrams are on the FAQ's for the digital adapers HERE

 

Since policies vary widely in Comcast markets, some Comcast offices give away the A/B and splitter, some charge for shipping, and some tell you to go to Radio Shack.

 

 

To experience all the HD channels available on your digital service, Comcast recommends to use a full HD set top box connected with either HDMI or component cables.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎09-20-2009
Posts: 7
Message 2 of 5 (942 Views)

Re: digital adapter

Received the digital adaptor to hookup to extra tv in house.  This tv is an Insignia 42" LCD and I am no longer able to pick up any network HD channels since hooking up the adaptor.  Do I have to settle for a less than desirable picture or is there something that can be done?

 

Thanks

Posted by
Bronze Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎12-13-2007
Posts: 3,325
Message 3 of 5 (979 Views)

Re: digital adapter

 


osbanner wrote:

Do i need a digital adapter on the tv that is hooked up through the Motorola DCT 6412. I put the digital adapter on by two auxilary tvs and the picture on those is now better than the picture coming through the DCT 6412 to my man tv?


Check the cabling on your DCT 6412.  If you are running an RF cable from it to your TV, does it (and your TV have the ability to use Audio/Video cables?

 

Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎12-31-2004
Posts: 10,676
Message 4 of 5 (1,025 Views)

Re: digital adapter

If you're referring to a DTA, these are not to be used in conjunction with other boxes, especially not HD DVRs.  Please elaborate on the problems with the DCT6412 picture, including how the TV is connected to the box.  The DVR should provide a much better picture than the DTA if connected to an HD TV using component or HDMI cables.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Visitor
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎04-11-2011
Posts: 1
Message 5 of 5 (1,044 Views)

digital adapter

Do i need a digital adapter on the tv that is hooked up through the Motorola DCT 6412. I put the digital adapter on by two auxilary tvs and the picture on those is now better than the picture coming through the DCT 6412 to my man tv?