Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,596,214

members

12

online now

1,780,288

discussions

Back to Top

changing channel by it self

Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎05-29-2008
Posts: 3
Message 1 of 6 (225 Views)

changing channel by it self

tv changes channels by it self I even removed the batteries from remote and it still kept changing channels every couple of minutes what is going on this happen on only one tv out of 5 in the house?

5 REPLIES
Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎12-31-2004
Posts: 10,676
Message 2 of 6 (220 Views)

Re: changing channel by it self

Is it the TV or a cable box that is changing channels?



Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon

Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎05-29-2008
Posts: 3
Message 3 of 6 (215 Views)

Re: changing channel by it self

cable box it stop for a while and started again it just changes to a ramdon channel not one up or down from the one we are watching I looked out front of my home I thought someone was screwing with us

Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎12-31-2004
Posts: 10,676
Message 4 of 6 (209 Views)

Re: changing channel by it self

Sometimes you can clear up problems such as this by unplugging the box's power for a moment, then plugging it back in. You will temporarily lose program guide data, but it will be replenished over a few hours.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon

Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎05-29-2008
Posts: 3
Message 5 of 6 (206 Views)

Re: changing channel by it self

Thanks I will give it a try, your help is apprericated, we thought we were going crazy

Posted by
Most Valued Poster

Member Since: ‎07-03-2003
Posts: 879
Message 6 of 6 (192 Views)

Re: changing channel by it self

If WE's suggestion doesn't do the trick, one other possibility to consider is stray IR radiation generated by aging compact fluorescent lamps.  I've experienced wacky behavior as a result of this in the past.