Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,597,015

members

25

online now

1,781,072

discussions

Back to Top

Whole Home DVR Network

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎01-09-2012
Posts: 2
Message 1 of 8 (8,727 Views)

Whole Home DVR Network

I have Xfinity TV service with three digital TVs and one HD-DVR. Currently all our recorded TV shows can only be watched on that one TV. I would like to be able to record TV shows and view them (with an appropriate converter or DVR) on any of my 3 TVs from a "common server" type setup. I have Comcast Internet and WiFi in the house. Is there any current solution available?

7 REPLIES
Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎12-31-2004
Posts: 10,676
Message 2 of 8 (8,724 Views)

Re: Whole Home DVR Network

If you have Motorola boxes, there is the option of AnyRoom DVR that may be available to you.  Call 1-800-COMCAST to see if it is available in your area.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon

Posted by
Official Employee

Member Since: ‎12-13-2011
Posts: 1,429
Message 3 of 8 (8,723 Views)

Re: Whole Home DVR Network

We have a service called, "Anyroom DVR", it sounds like what you want.

You have a main DVR box where you can record, and then you can play back those recordings on upto 3 other boxes in the house.

It isn't available yet in all areas, so I would call your local Comcast number and ask about it, they will be able to tell you if it is available and set it up for you if it is.

Comcast Nick
Supervisor
Executive Customer Relations




Community Icon
I am an Official Comcast Employee.
Official Employees are from multiple teams within Comcast: Product, Support, Leadership.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am an Offical Comcast Employee.
Official Employees are from multiple teams within Comcast.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am a Comcast Employee.
Please post so people with similar questions may benefit.
Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon
Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎01-09-2012
Posts: 2
Message 4 of 8 (8,710 Views)

Re: Whole Home DVR Network

Excellent. Thanks for your info. I do have a Motorola box and will contact 1-800-COMCAST to get this service connected (hopefully).

Posted by
Silver Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎06-17-2008
Posts: 13,999
Message 5 of 8 (8,705 Views)

Re: Whole Home DVR Network

one thing to note, you can only pause and rewind, FF from the main box for live tv, the other terminals are just dummy boxes and have no hard drive.

Posted by
Official Employee

Member Since: ‎12-13-2011
Posts: 1,429
Message 6 of 8 (8,660 Views)

Re: Whole Home DVR Network


rog286713 wrote:

one thing to note, you can only pause and rewind, FF from the main box for live tv, the other terminals are just dummy boxes and have no hard drive.


This is true for live tv, the terminals can however pause, rewind, or fast forward any recording you have.

Comcast Nick
Supervisor
Executive Customer Relations




Community Icon
I am an Official Comcast Employee.
Official Employees are from multiple teams within Comcast: Product, Support, Leadership.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am an Offical Comcast Employee.
Official Employees are from multiple teams within Comcast.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am a Comcast Employee.
Please post so people with similar questions may benefit.
Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎11-28-2010
Posts: 1
Message 7 of 8 (7,583 Views)

Re: Whole Home DVR Network

How many shows can you record at once with the whole home DVR from Comcast?

Posted by
Edited on
‎04-26-2012 01:12 PM

Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎03-02-2007
Posts: 17,749
Message 8 of 8 (7,572 Views)

Re: Whole Home DVR Network

[ Edited ]

The current Comcast AnyRoom DVR runs on a two tuner DVR, so the answer is two.

 

Trials of a 4 tuner box is ongoing on Augusta GA, not available anywhere else.

 

Retail Tivo Premier Elite's have 4 tuners and a 2TB drive.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon