Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,610,437

members

35

online now

1,792,341

discussions

Back to Top

Which outlet is Comcast?

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎03-17-2017
Posts: 5
Message 1 of 10 (249 Views)

Which outlet is Comcast?

There are multiple coax outlets on the same wall in my apartment. How do I tell which is Comcast's and which is the building's antenna?

9 REPLIES
Posted by
Service Expert

Member Since: ‎08-02-2013
Posts: 12,585
Message 2 of 10 (226 Views)

Re: Which outlet is Comcast?


RalphSmithers wrote:

There are multiple coax outlets on the same wall in my apartment. How do I tell which is Comcast's and which is the building's antenna?


You could open the wallplates and see if there is any ID inside, you can then access your building's electrical/utility room and see if the wiring for Comcast is identified there with your apt number ( match the cable identification with the wiring inside your wallplate ).   Or you could just ask your apartment complex maintenance staff or the Manager,

 

You can also just connect the STB and TV to one of them and see if your cable service is active.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon

Posted by
Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎06-30-2016
Posts: 550
Message 3 of 10 (206 Views)

Re: Which outlet is Comcast?

It would be faster to connect with a coaxial-cable to the antenna input on the television. Then scan for stations. If it finds some, connect the cable-box to the other one. The OTA channels will give you some back-up when the cable fails.

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎03-17-2017
Posts: 5
Message 4 of 10 (202 Views)

Re: Which outlet is Comcast?

Thanks. Pretty much what I figured I'd do if someone here didn't have a better idea. Makes sense to me since I can't get access to the building's cable closet. 

 

Thanks for the reinforcement. 

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎03-17-2017
Posts: 5
Message 5 of 10 (201 Views)

Re: Which outlet is Comcast?

Thanks, they won't let me into their cable closet and neither the manager or the engineer knew what was coming into the wall plates which could have Comcast, At&T or Direct TV being fed into them. 

Posted by
Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎06-30-2016
Posts: 550
Message 6 of 10 (186 Views)

Re: Which outlet is Comcast?

I would check both to see if one is for an antenna.

 

If the system is hooked up correctly; one of the others could be hooked up to either of the local non-OTA services (3  you listed) by their service personnel. You might check with a neighbor.

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎03-17-2017
Posts: 5
Message 7 of 10 (166 Views)

Re: Which outlet is Comcast?


MNtundraRET wrote:

I would check both to see if one is for an antenna.

 

If the system is hooked up correctly; one of the others could be hooked up to either of the local non-OTA services (3  you listed) by their service personnel. You might check with a neighbor.


Thanks, but I'm on my own. The neighbors are quite elderly and haven't a clue. I'm gonna hook up a tv and do an auto-search for channels.

Posted by
Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎06-30-2016
Posts: 550
Message 8 of 10 (155 Views)

Re: Which outlet is Comcast?

Can you see any signs of an antenna or satellite dishes on the roof? Any signs of cable-box connections to main trunk cable outside of the building?

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎03-17-2017
Posts: 5
Message 9 of 10 (137 Views)

Re: Which outlet is Comcast?


MNtundraRET wrote:

Can you see any signs of an antenna or satellite dishes on the roof? Any signs of cable-box connections to main trunk cable outside of the building?


I'm certain that there are all 3 coming into the building and that there are coaxial outlets for the building's antenna &/or Comcast or Direct TV in each of the apartments. I just don't know which is which.  Thanks for the help. I'm planning on testing them tomorrow or Monday. 

Posted by
Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎06-30-2016
Posts: 550
Message 10 of 10 (70 Views)

Re: Which outlet is Comcast?

Ralph: I hope you have things working by now.

 

I suspect you may have to have Comcast service personnel come out to get the cable activated and connected to their trunk cable to install your initial service in your apartment. Replacing a faulty box at a later date most likely can be done by self install.