Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,498,075

members

52

online now

1,703,828

discussions

Using IR receiver on Comcast HD Cable Box

6 REPLIES
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎04-17-2014
Posts: 2
Message 1 of 7 (14,605 Views)

Re: Using IR receiver on Comcast HD Cable Box

I have a DCH3416 HD Cable Box.  I have a setup where the cable box is in the basement, and uses RCA jacks to transport the signal to a series of TV's, that , "in theory" can all operate off the same remote.  The remote signal is transport via infraed emitters.

 

I've got the cable signal working, but no action from the remote.  Does the xfinity remote need to be setup in any way to work with this?  Special programming perhaps?

 

Any ideas?

 

Thanks

 

 

 

 

Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎03-02-2007
Posts: 17,720
Message 2 of 7 (31,596 Views)

Re: Using IR receiver on Comcast HD Cable Box

A DCH3200 doesn't have a IR receiver port, you would need to use a 3rd party repeater system and place the blaster on the front of the box.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎04-13-2012
Posts: 1
Message 3 of 7 (31,604 Views)

Re: Using IR receiver on Comcast HD Cable Box

I just received Motorola DCH3200 for my business from Comcast.  Having trouble finding IR Reciever that will work.  Box has a 'serial port' that is a 3.5mm jack.  WIll this work?  Install tech said all other ports are disabled and was unsure about that.  There has to be some way to hide my box and still use it...

Thanks for your time!

Posted by
Edited on
‎03-31-2012 01:47 AM

Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎03-02-2007
Posts: 17,720
Message 4 of 7 (31,843 Views)

Re: Using IR receiver on Comcast HD Cable Box

[ Edited ]

A blaster is a 2 wire device that transmits the IR signal to a piece of equipment.  As an example would be a older Tivo came with IR blasters to place in front a cable box window so the cable box would change the channel at the right time.  Blasters also came with a few model VCR's in the 90's.

 

You need a IR receiver that accepts a IR signal like from a remote control and sends it to the equipment over a 3 wire connection.  This would be proper for hiding a cable box.  The box needs to have the 3 wire stereo mini jack specific for a IR receiver.

 

The cable box must be marked IR receive.

 

 




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎03-31-2012
Posts: 2
Message 5 of 7 (31,845 Views)

Re: Using IR receiver on Comcast HD Cable Box

Thanks Jay.  What is the difference between IR receiver and IR blaster?  And does this essentially mean I cannot do what I want to do, which is hide the box and point the remote at some kind of receiver cord?

Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎03-02-2007
Posts: 17,720
Message 6 of 7 (31,847 Views)

Re: Using IR receiver on Comcast HD Cable Box

The IR receiver that comes with the DTA kit only will work on a Pace RNG110, Motorola DCX3200 HD box, or DCX3400 HD DVR.

 

The older Moto DCT and DCH series boxes do not have IR receiver ports, but IR blaster ports.  I also believe no SA or Cisco boxes have any active IR receiver ports.

 

There are others that claim the IR receiver has been found to be disabled, so it might work in some markets and not in others to to programming on the boxes.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎03-31-2012
Posts: 2
Message 7 of 7 (31,850 Views)

Using IR receiver on Comcast HD Cable Box

I want to hide one of my set-top boxes and use an IR receiver cable to receive the remote signal.  The Digital Adapter (small basic cable box) came with a cord for this purpose. It works on the small Digital Adapter but does not work on any of the large set-top cable boxes even though they have the same IR input on the back. I bought another cord that is for this purpose but it will still not work.  Does anyone know if this is even possible?  What cord will work?  I'd appreciate any help on this topic.