Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,496,498

members

66

online now

1,703,063

discussions

Tivo DVR constantly rebooting

8 REPLIES
Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎11-26-2008
Posts: 4
Message 1 of 9 (574 Views)

Re: Tivo DVR constantly rebooting

Sorry guys, after reading the postings suggested, it seemed like the full reset/erase or full download of firmware would work. I had seen some of the messages displayed on my tivo, such as the 'n dl" which downloads all the firmware from scratch. But the tivo software has changed, and the instructions did not work. I have played with the diagnostics screen and stuff but no go.

 

I think the HD is just fried and that is why it can't fix itself. Oh well. Another week without TV.....

 

But thank you all, you were great help and hope.

 

Ricardo 

Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎12-31-2004
Posts: 10,676
Message 2 of 9 (583 Views)

Re: Tivo DVR constantly rebooting

See this.  The Wiki book was actually written for non-TiVo Motorola DVRs, so it should apply to you.  It sounds like you may need a new DVR, though. 



Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎11-28-2008
Posts: 1
Message 3 of 9 (586 Views)

Re: Tivo DVR constantly rebooting

ok, i have a dvr that is not a tvio will that reset my box as well? My box starting reseting itself last monday on it's on the screen says booting then some numbers. The tv will start then then shut off tv has been soing this every 30mins or less
Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎11-26-2008
Posts: 4
Message 4 of 9 (599 Views)

Re: Tivo DVR constantly rebooting

You guys are awesome, I think the full reset/load firmware and load software again will work, which will preserve my settings and old programs. Since it may take 2 hours we'll do it in a couple of hours. Right now we are cleaning the house and at least watching/hearing a little bit of TV for a couple of minutes every now and then helps.

 

thank you all!!!!

 

Ricardo

 

Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎12-31-2004
Posts: 10,676
Message 5 of 9 (603 Views)

Re: Tivo DVR constantly rebooting

You might try posting on the AVS Comcast TiVo Forum.



Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎09-17-2008
Posts: 586
Message 6 of 9 (604 Views)

Re: Tivo DVR constantly rebooting

It's possible it may have encountered an error while downloading updated software/firmware and cannot reset itself back to the original software/firmware.  The box may need a full software/firmware reset to correct the issue.  On the moto boxes with i-guide, you can reset the box by do this.  I'm not sure if the steps are valid for boxes configured for tivo.

 

Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎11-26-2008
Posts: 4
Message 7 of 9 (609 Views)

Re: Tivo DVR constantly rebooting

This is a Motorola, Comcast Tivo. Our second unit already... I am desperate for help.

 

thankzzz

 

Ricardo 

Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎12-31-2004
Posts: 10,676
Message 8 of 9 (614 Views)

Re: Tivo DVR constantly rebooting

Is this a real TiVo or TiVo software in a Motorola box? 



Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎11-26-2008
Posts: 4
Message 9 of 9 (615 Views)

Tivo DVR constantly rebooting

A couple of days ago, our Tivo DVR started rebooting itself. Then it shows the 8888's, the dots.... of downloading something. When it finally comes up TV shows for a few seconds or minutes but the Tivo is dead, not recording, no guide, no Welcome to Tivo screen... you can not change channels or invoke any Tivo functions. Then.... reboot and it all starts again.

 

We tried unplugging it for 10 seconds, half an hour, etc. No go.... any idea? The cable technician won't be here until next week... no TV.... ouch...

 

Please help

 

Ricardo