Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,598,466

members

33

online now

1,782,129

discussions

Back to Top

Sleep button on comcast remote?

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎01-12-2010
Posts: 2
Message 1 of 9 (21,914 Views)

Sleep button on comcast remote?

I have a "red ok button" comcast remote.  Is there a way to put on a sleep timer?  Can't find it anywhere.  Thanks.
8 REPLIES
Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎12-31-2004
Posts: 10,676
Message 2 of 9 (21,912 Views)

Re: Sleep button on comcast remote?

I don't know of any.  What would you have it do?  If you have such a timer just for the TV it might be useful.



Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon

Posted by
Email Expert

Member Since: ‎04-27-2004
Posts: 18,252
Message 3 of 9 (21,902 Views)

Re: Sleep button on comcast remote?

I think he has a TV with the sleep feature, and its normal remote has this button, so he'd like to program the Comcast universal remote to do the same thing.



Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎12-31-2004
Posts: 10,676
Message 4 of 9 (21,893 Views)

Re: Sleep button on comcast remote?

Perhaps.  I don't know of any way to do that.



Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎01-12-2010
Posts: 2
Message 5 of 9 (21,886 Views)

Re: Sleep button on comcast remote?

Barmar knows what I'm talking about...any ideas on how to program the comschmast remote to do that Barmar?
Posted by
Email Expert

Member Since: ‎04-27-2004
Posts: 18,252
Message 6 of 9 (21,870 Views)

Re: Sleep button on comcast remote?

Sorry, I don't know. You don't get "Expert" status on the forum by knowing the answers and deliberately not giving them when replying.



Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎12-31-2004
Posts: 10,676
Message 7 of 9 (21,866 Views)

Re: Sleep button on comcast remote?

It's enough that you're expected to be a mind reader. 



Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon

Posted by
Edited on
‎01-19-2010 08:24 AM

Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎08-02-2005
Posts: 1,063
Message 8 of 9 (21,855 Views)

Re: Sleep button on comcast remote?

[ Edited ]

You need to know the EFC (Extended Function Code) for the Sleep function on your TV.  I can't tell you what this code is, because it's very different per TV manufacturer.
 
I will tell you my SAMSUNG Plasma TV's EFC Codes for certain functions that I use are:

00022 - Zoom
00213 - PIP on/off
00151 - PIP Ch Up
00155 - PIP Ch Down
00187 - Sleep timer
 
On Comcast Red OK button remote to make TV functions work even when on Cable mode.

Press Cable
Push and hold setup until the light blinks twice
Press 9 9 4
Press TV
Press Setup
Press EFC Code ie) 00187 for Sleep timer code
Press Cable
Press Button you want to activate that EFC code.

 
If you want to have to push TV on the remote first, then the button, you would program it only to the "TV" device:

Push TV
Push and hold setup until the light blinks twice
Push 9 9 4
Push setup
Enter the 5 digit EFC code
Lastly press the button on the remote that you want to assign that code to.

To get EFC Codes, the best thing to do is a Google search.  I've found them on forums from

 

www.remotecentral.com


or 

 

www.hifi-remote.com

Message Edited by cypherx on 01-19-2010 08:24 AM
Posted by
Contributor

Member Since: ‎06-18-2004
Posts: 76
Message 9 of 9 (21,836 Views)

Re: Sleep button on comcast remote?

Fantastic! Smiley Happy I just made the lock button my sleep timer for my Samsung HDTV. Now I don't have to go fumbling for the TV remote. Thanks cypherx.