Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,517,327

members

80

online now

1,718,046

discussions

Back to Top

Remote replacement

10 REPLIES
Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • You have posted 10 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎07-03-2011
Posts: 12
Message 1 of 11 (27,431 Views)

Re: Remote replacement

Wow!  I didn't realize that I would be opening such a flood gate!!  As a former cable (and sat) technician, I would never suggest that anyone do anything illegal.  Sorry but not so long ago, one could purchase their own equipment.  This used to be the norm with Sat TV.  In fact, it was required.  We have to remember that it is much more profitable for a company to rent equipment rather than allow their customers to make a one time purchase.  Depending on how long you're with a provider, you may pay for the cost of the equipment many times over.  (Remember that providers buy in bulk so they get the equipment much cheaper than a customer may obtain it though retail outlets).  Yes, yes, yes . . . just call Comcast and they will send you one.  This is the easiest way and will ensure that you get the correct remote.  You can even rent extras; I do.

Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎03-02-2007
Posts: 17,744
Message 2 of 11 (30,972 Views)

Re: Remote replacement

Whatever you do, get the same remote as you have.

 

Silver remote with the red OK button for the older SA 8300's, SA 4250's and Motorola DCT and DCH series.

 

Platnium remote (dark gray) for the all the RNG's and Motorola DCX's.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • You have posted 10 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎07-03-2011
Posts: 12
Message 3 of 11 (30,981 Views)

Re: Remote replacement

I've read on Comcast's site that you can use a universal remote with their converters.  Of course, like all universal remotes, one won't be able to utilize every function and some buttons will have markings different from the original.  This said, it's so easy to just stop by an office or call them to obtain one that I don't understand what all of the fuss is about!

Posted by
Edited on
‎12-11-2011 08:32 AM

Regular Contributor

Member Since: ‎07-08-2011
Posts: 132
Message 4 of 11 (30,998 Views)

Re: Remote replacement

[ Edited ]

ComcastKeisha said it I didn't. Smiley Happy

I would stay away from buying Comcast equipment offline.

 

Where would I go to buy Comcast equipment Offline? A street corner in Southwest Philly? I'll take my chances calling Comcast for a replacement of course,or online. Smiley Happy

 



Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎12-10-2011
Posts: 1
Message 5 of 11 (31,011 Views)

Re: Remote replacement

I programmed my remote (that came with the digital converter box) and it seems that the only buttons that do not work are the power and volume. I can change the channel, and the number keys work. Does this mean the remote is faulty, and I need a new one?

Posted by
Edited on
‎12-09-2011 03:57 PM

Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎09-20-2011
Posts: 1,561
Message 6 of 11 (31,039 Views)

Re: Remote replacement

[ Edited ]

Thank You
-Keisha-
Posted by
Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎04-03-2008
Posts: 511
Message 7 of 11 (31,063 Views)

Re: Remote replacement

You should be able to call 1-800-XFINITY and get a new one shipped to you.

Posted by
Edited on
‎12-08-2011 06:47 AM

Regular Contributor

Member Since: ‎07-08-2011
Posts: 132
Message 8 of 11 (31,081 Views)

Re: Remote replacement

[ Edited ]

Oy Vey!   So if I would buy a remote similar in design to the Comcast remote from Ebay or any other online sourceA Comcast representative or the cops will be pounding on my door to see if it's legal or not? Apparently its not a high issue with Comcast since there are over 300 of them on Ebay? Not that I would do anything illegal that is.

Posted by
Service Expert

Member Since: ‎02-04-2004
Posts: 16,299
Message 9 of 11 (31,096 Views)

Re: Remote replacement

Remotes are the property of Comcast. Comcast does not sell them to customers.

 

If you buy one from Ebay or any other online source you will be buying stolen property.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • You have posted 10 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎07-03-2011
Posts: 12
Message 10 of 11 (31,111 Views)

Re: Remote replacement

You can buy them through ebay.  I've just looked and they have all different types.  Just be certain that if you're replacing one for a DVR, that you get the darker gray looking ones as the lighter ones don't work on the DVR.

Posted by
Visitor
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎12-07-2011
Posts: 1
Message 11 of 11 (31,114 Views)

Remote replacement

My remote is going out.  Is there a way to get a new one without standing in line an hour at the service center?