Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,517,134

members

81

online now

1,717,907

discussions

Back to Top

Remote control codes for Cisco RNG100

4 REPLIES
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎01-23-2013
Posts: 1
Message 1 of 5 (20,497 Views)

Re: Remote control codes for Cisco RNG100

the problem is how to reset the blame remote.. the comcast remotes reset as follows

press the CABLE button.
press and hold the SETUP button until the CABLE button blinks twice.
Enter 9 - 8 - 2. The CABLE key will blink four times.

 

this is to unlock the remote.. my comcast code was 01982

worked slick as anything..

 

after calling to get help none there knows utox from , well yyou know

 

Posted by
Gold Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎12-03-2007
Posts: 11,723
Message 2 of 5 (23,739 Views)

Re: Remote control codes for Cisco RNG100

In the remote's instruction sheet, that code is listed under "Setup Codes For Cable Boxes" for brand "Comcast".

Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎04-01-2009
Posts: 3
Message 3 of 5 (23,748 Views)

Re: Remote control codes for Cisco RNG100

Actually, there is a code (01982). I found it on urcsupport.com. I entered it to the remote setup and it works like a charm. Seemed simpler than resetting the box.

Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎03-02-2007
Posts: 17,744
Message 4 of 5 (23,778 Views)

Re: Remote control codes for Cisco RNG100

There is no specific code, what you need to do is follow this Wiki on doing a reset of the remote in section 1.7 at this link.

 

That will get the remote back to factory settings to work on the RNG box.  You will then need to do your custom settings again.

 

 




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎04-01-2009
Posts: 3
Message 5 of 5 (23,777 Views)

Remote control codes for Cisco RNG100

While setting up another device, I accidently blew away the remote control setting for my Cisco RNG100 set-top box. Now, my remote control cannot control my cable box. It's easy enough to reset the remote but the remote control documentation lists no codes for Cisco cable boxes and the Comcast web page to get codes does not even list cable boxes as an option.

 

What are the Cisco cable box codes for the popular Comcast remote controls? (I have the one with the red OK button.)

 

Thanks.