Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,496,916

members

50

online now

1,703,279

discussions

New cable box, no clock?

14 REPLIES
Posted by
Official Employee

Member Since: ‎01-09-2012
Posts: 13,234
Message 1 of 15 (23,319 Views)
Posted by
Silver Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎06-17-2008
Posts: 13,999
Message 2 of 15 (25,560 Views)

Re: New cable box, no clock?

got it, thanks

Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎10-20-2007
Posts: 2
Message 3 of 15 (25,562 Views)

Re: New cable box, no clock?


rog286713 wrote:

large motorola boxes will no longer be available, that is totally not true, the higher end boxes have the display. 



What I meant Rog is what I was told by the repair center supervisor when I inquired about it...Is that the larger Motorola set top box WITHOUT the DVR and clock will no longer be available to comcast users....maybe you should inquire with the repair center near you and see what they tell you? I was disappointed when I heard that news and gave the supervisor my 2 cents worth but it wasn't worth more than 2 cents to her.She said "forget it"...Xfinity will be using small set top boxes without clocks but only those without a DVR inside...those with a DVR will still have a clock and display for programming I am assuming.

Posted by
Silver Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎06-17-2008
Posts: 13,999
Message 4 of 15 (25,595 Views)

Re: New cable box, no clock?

large motorola boxes will no longer be available, that is totally not true, the higher end boxes have the display. 

Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎10-20-2007
Posts: 2
Message 5 of 15 (25,597 Views)

Re: New cable box, no clock?

You are 100% correct Mary! The new comcast boxes without the DVR feature do not have a clock nor do they have a message reminder light. I also enjoyed having a clock display as well as knowing the channel i was tuned too but i was told by the people behind the window at the service center that the larger Motorola set top boxes with the clock and the channel display will no longer be available to customers as Xfinity kicks in ....so the price goes up while the features go down and name gets changed and nothing gets better! 

Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎03-02-2007
Posts: 17,720
Message 6 of 15 (25,739 Views)

Re: New cable box, no clock?

You will see in my earlier post the Cisco RNG150 HD box doesn't have a display to show the channels or clock.  This makes the box smaller and cheaper. 




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Frequent Visitor

Member Since: ‎09-09-2011
Posts: 10
Message 7 of 15 (25,758 Views)

Re: New cable box, no clock?

Not sure which box you have... but press menu twice on remote, then cable box settings and select to show the clock.

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎06-10-2011
Posts: 3
Message 8 of 15 (25,765 Views)

Re: New cable box, no clock?

I didn't think this was a "simple cable box" though. We were told it would allow us to access more HD features. However, if I had known I would love the clock, I would have stayed with what I had. I simply don't understand Comcast... prices go up while features go down. 

Posted by
Silver Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎06-17-2008
Posts: 13,999
Message 9 of 15 (25,778 Views)

Re: New cable box, no clock?

simple cable boxes not dvr's don't have the time display for the most part.

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎06-10-2011
Posts: 3
Message 10 of 15 (25,797 Views)

Re: New cable box, no clock?

We just "upgraded" to the RNG150N and there is no clock display. I don't understand why that would not be a standard part of ANY cable box. I find myself looking at the box constantly to check the time!

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎07-08-2011
Posts: 2
Message 11 of 15 (26,070 Views)

Re: New cable box, no clock?

On some boxes, you set the clock to be viewed in the menu, under setup cable box.

Posted by
Edited on
‎07-07-2011 05:34 PM

Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎03-02-2007
Posts: 17,720
Message 12 of 15 (26,117 Views)

Re: New cable box, no clock?

[ Edited ]

New smaller full boxes do not have any display's, just  a few LED's.  The Pace RNG110, Moto DCX3200, DCX3200R2/RNG150n are some of the new boxes without a display.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎07-07-2011
Posts: 1
Message 13 of 15 (26,119 Views)

New cable box, no clock?

I just received the new cable box from comcast and there is no time displayed.  Am i missing something here or do they come with out  clocks.

Posted by
Silver Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎06-17-2008
Posts: 13,999
Message 14 of 15 (26,179 Views)

Re: New cable box, no clock?

which box is it? 

Posted by
Visitor
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎07-06-2011
Posts: 1
Message 15 of 15 (26,187 Views)

New cable box, no clock?

I just received the new cable box from comcast and there is no time displayed.  Am i missing something here or do they come with out  clocks.