Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,514,024

members

6

online now

1,714,723

discussions

Back to Top

Convenience Power Outlet

SOLVED
7 REPLIES
Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎12-17-2009
Posts: 4
Message 1 of 8 (338 Views)

Re: Convenience Power Outlet

Thanks, Andy.  And you are correct that enabling RF bypass causes the record light to turn on - I had not seen that previously but after adjusting the setup I am now seeing it and wondered why it was happening.  I think I have reached the end of my quest - appreciate all the input from the community.  Thanks.
Posted by
Silver Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎10-17-2003
Posts: 4,489
Message 2 of 8 (340 Views)

Re: Convenience Power Outlet

iGuide lists many options that do not work on newer boxes. I think switched outlet and RF bypass only work on the oldest DCT-2000/2200 series. On a DVR, enabling RF bypass causes the record light to turn on whenever the box is turned off.
Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎12-17-2009
Posts: 4
Message 3 of 8 (343 Views)

Re: Convenience Power Outlet

It's Motorola, Model DCH3416.
Posted by
Email Expert

Member Since: ‎04-27-2004
Posts: 18,247
Message 4 of 8 (350 Views)

Re: Convenience Power Outlet

That seems like the right place. Strange that the setup menu would have this option, but it doesn't actually do anything.  What kind of cable box is it?
Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎12-17-2009
Posts: 4
Message 5 of 8 (354 Views)

Re: Convenience Power Outlet

Thank you for your response.

 

I plugged in the fan and changed the setting to switched but it didn't power off the fan. 

 

This is under AC Outlet in the Cable Box Setup Menu so I believe I'm in the right place.  Any other thoughts?

Posted by
Email Expert

Member Since: ‎04-27-2004
Posts: 18,247
Message 6 of 8 (365 Views)

Re: Convenience Power Outlet

Check the setup options for the box to see if there's something like "Switched Outlet". That typically controls whether power to this outlet is cut when the box is turned off. This is usually used when you have a TV plugged into the outlet, and you want it to turn off when you turn off the box (this was very useful before universal remotes with a "Power All" button became common).
Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎12-31-2004
Posts: 10,676
Message 7 of 8 (396 Views)

Re: Convenience Power Outlet

I recommend you get one of the USB powered notebook fans.  Although the USB ports aren't active, they are powered.  These fans draw little power.  The boxes aren't really "off" unless the power to them is removed.



Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎12-17-2009
Posts: 4
Message 8 of 8 (380 Views)

Convenience Power Outlet

I would like to have a fan powered by the convenience outlet on the cable box, toggled with the power on/off feature of the cable box.  Currently the outlet is "on" 100% of the time.  Is there a way to change the control so it will toggle off when the cable box if turned off?