Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,496,232

members

8

online now

1,702,852

discussions

Cisco RNG200 HD DVR box

8 REPLIES
Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎10-28-2008
Posts: 2
Message 1 of 9 (1,061 Views)

Re: Cisco RNG200 HD DVR box

monmouth co. nj
Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎12-31-2004
Posts: 10,676
Message 2 of 9 (1,063 Views)

Re: Cisco RNG200 HD DVR box


skyline987 wrote:
I just got the box last week and its pretty solid.
...

Where are you located?




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎10-28-2008
Posts: 2
Message 3 of 9 (1,068 Views)

Re: Cisco RNG200 HD DVR box

I just got the box last week and its pretty solid. Compared to my hacked DirectTV tivo its **bleep** but it beats having my signal drop every 5 to 10 minutes and finally taking advantage of my HDTV is great. As for what it looks like its the 1st link and the hdd is waay to small. After only a week im 25% full so hopefully the eSATA ports are enabled.
Posted by
Edited on
‎09-27-2008 08:35 PM

Valued Contributor

Member Since: ‎09-11-2008
Posts: 369
Message 4 of 9 (1,125 Views)

Re: Cisco RNG200 HD DVR box

[ Edited ]
I have had both the Moto 6412 III is WAY better than the SA8300 everything from the guide to searchability for shows... but still SUPERBLY crappy compared to Dish's ViP622/722


Message Edited by LinkNuc on 09-27-2008 05:35 PM
Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎08-02-2005
Posts: 1,063
Message 5 of 9 (1,141 Views)

Re: Cisco RNG200 HD DVR box

That, and also on page 17 of the last pdf manual, you'll see it's supported to attach extra hard drive space for DVR recordings with the eSATA port. 

Motorola hasn't a clue how to get the eSATA port working on their own box.


Posted by
Valued Contributor

Member Since: ‎06-27-2006
Posts: 596
Message 6 of 9 (1,146 Views)

Re: Cisco RNG200 HD DVR box

Also feel sorry for those of us w/Moto boxes. At least (some) SA's have a native resolution passthrough mode. The less processing these boxes do, especially to HD signals, the better...
Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎08-02-2005
Posts: 1,063
Message 7 of 9 (1,148 Views)

Re: Cisco RNG200 HD DVR box

Why does the one in the middle look exactly like a Panasonic PCH-2180 250GB DVR?  Then the other two are more simular, but still some details like front a/v ports and minor case nuances prevail.

What does the box look like for real?  Link 1, Link 2, or Link 3 ?
Posted by
Valued Contributor

Member Since: ‎09-11-2008
Posts: 369
Message 8 of 9 (1,151 Views)

Re: Cisco RNG200 HD DVR box

Does it matter, i'm sure its gotta be better than the SA 8300 (I feel sorry for you cutomers on the old Adelphia backbone and Time Warner customer on the same)  However, 160GB HDD is pathetically small and you would think it'd be able to push 1080p (maybe it can with firmware update) since Dish has 1080p on demand and FiOS is testing too...I am geting really tired of paying more for less...
Posted by
Regular Contributor

Member Since: ‎04-07-2008
Posts: 385
Message 9 of 9 (1,167 Views)

Cisco RNG200 HD DVR box