Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,516,293

members

80

online now

1,716,915

discussions

Back to Top

Cable TV BLACK BLANK on screen

SOLVED
12 REPLIES
Posted by
Official Employee

Member Since: ‎01-09-2012
Posts: 13,719
Message 1 of 13 (7,914 Views)

Re: Cable TV BLACK BLANK on screen


wa3gin wrote:

NOPE... this issue has nothing to do with CLOSED CAPTIONS.  I powered down the COMCAST BOX and allowed the powersupply to fully discharge. Then powered it back up.  The problem cleared. OMG!


Glad to hear.  

Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎07-21-2010
Posts: 3
Message 2 of 13 (7,916 Views)

Re: Cable TV BLACK BLANK on screen

NOPE... this issue has nothing to do with CLOSED CAPTIONS.  I powered down the COMCAST BOX and allowed the powersupply to fully discharge. Then powered it back up.  The problem cleared. OMG!

Posted by
Edited on
‎05-16-2014 10:48 AM

Official Employee

Member Since: ‎01-09-2012
Posts: 13,719
Message 3 of 13 (7,922 Views)

Re: Cable TV BLACK BLANK on screen

[ Edited ]

wa3gin wrote:

So, please explain how CLOSED CAPTION setting was changed.  There has been no adjustments made on our box???


Try going into your TV set menu and turning off the closed captioning option. You will need your TV set manual and-or your TV remote control and locate the CC instructions. Buttons on your TV remote control may have been pressed accidentally.  

 

If you have a HD cable box, then you can also try turning off any closed captioning on the box too

.

Turn the cable box off, and leave the TV on.  Then press the Menu button on your remote control, it should bring up the HD User Settings menu.  You will be able to disable closed captioning there.

 

One of those two should fix it for you.

Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎07-21-2010
Posts: 3
Message 4 of 13 (7,980 Views)

Re: Cable TV BLACK BLANK on screen

So, please explain how CLOSED CAPTION setting was changed.  There has been no adjustments made on our box???

Posted by
Official Employee

Member Since: ‎01-09-2012
Posts: 13,719
Message 5 of 13 (7,990 Views)

Re: Cable TV BLACK BLANK on screen


wa3gin wrote:
The problem is back in May 2014.... Very irritating!!! Doesn't anyone at Comcast watch their own transmissions?

Apologies, as per the solution above, this is a local closed captioning issue to your TV set or cable box. The marked solution should help you.  

Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎07-21-2010
Posts: 3
Message 6 of 13 (8,017 Views)

Re: Cable TV BLACK BLANK on screen

The problem is back in May 2014.... Very irritating!!! Doesn't anyone at Comcast watch their own transmissions?
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎03-13-2009
Posts: 1
Message 7 of 13 (8,341 Views)

Re: Cable TV BLACK BLANK on screen

Closed Captioning was the problem. Thanks for your help. I love the internet and forums like this. Problem solved.
Posted by
Official Employee

Member Since: ‎12-13-2011
Posts: 1,429
Message 8 of 13 (13,138 Views)

Re: Cable TV BLACK BLANK on screen

If your box isnt HD, then it has to be a setting on your TV.

What brand of TV do you have?

Have you checked those forums?

Comcast Nick
Supervisor
Executive Customer Relations
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎12-21-2011
Posts: 3
Message 9 of 13 (13,149 Views)

Re: Cable TV BLACK BLANK on screen

My new and control does not have a MENU option and my old one (prior to Xfinity kit install) does not appear to have a close caption facility. really I am out of my depth on this.

WABG

Posted by
Service Expert

Member Since: ‎02-04-2004
Posts: 16,299
Message 10 of 13 (13,151 Views)

Re: Cable TV BLACK BLANK on screen

If it is closed captioned through your tv, I do agree that is what you could be seeing.

 

Most tv's have 2 closed caption settings. On mine they are Caption which has the words at the bottom of the screen.

 

The other setting is Text, which has only a big blank black box on the screen.

 

I don't know if these settings are standard on all tv's. Yours may say something different.

 

Do as Nick suggests and try the tv CC settings first.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Official Employee

Member Since: ‎12-13-2011
Posts: 1,429
Message 11 of 13 (14,860 Views)

Re: Cable TV BLACK BLANK on screen

It sounds like a closed captioning problem.

Try going into your TV menu and turning off the closed captioning option.

 

If you have a HD cable box, then you can also try turning off any closed captioning on the box too.

Turn the cable box off, and leave the TV on.  Then press the Menu button on your remote control, it should bring up the HD User Settings menu.  You will be able to disable closed captioning there.

 

One of those two should fix it for you.

Comcast Nick
Supervisor
Executive Customer Relations
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎12-21-2011
Posts: 3
Message 12 of 13 (13,164 Views)

Re: Cable TV BLACK BLANK on screen

I am having problems with a rectangular BLACK Blank covering two thirds of my TV screen  when a channel is changed.

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎12-21-2011
Posts: 3
Message 13 of 13 (13,166 Views)

Cable TV BLACK BLANK on screen

Hello I have been having problems with my TV since installing the Xfinity kit.

The main problem is a larg rectangular BLACK BLANK covering the picture for about Two thirds of the screen.

This appears when the channel is changed and when it appears that's it, it stays. Can you resolve this prpblem please.

WABG