Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,515,348

members

30

online now

1,715,881

discussions

Back to Top

adobe flash

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎12-22-2012
Posts: 1
Message 1 of 11 (1,504 Views)

adobe flash

I cannot play any video that requires adobe flash if i access xfinity through explorer, if i access xfinity through google chrome it works fine. I do have the latest version of flash & chrome

10 REPLIES
Highlighted
Posted by
Silver Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎10-17-2003
Posts: 4,499
Message 2 of 11 (1,487 Views)

Re: adobe flash

What error message do you get, or what happens when you try with IE?

 

With IE, does this say you have a working and the latest version?

http://www.adobe.com/software/flash/about/

 

You can download and manually install the latest versions from here. Download the two EXE's listed. The first is for IE, the other is for everything else:

http://www.adobe.com/products/flashplayer/distribution3.html

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎12-29-2012
Posts: 4
Message 3 of 11 (1,416 Views)

Re: adobe flash

I use a Mac and Safari.  When I click on a Comcast video, I am redirected to the Xfinity page telling me I need to upgrade my Mac.  When I go to Apple, they tell me that there is no Upgrade.  Now I cannot use my Mac on the Xfinity Web sites because of an upgrade to Adobe.  Nice.  Did my 3-year old Mac just become obsolete when using Comcast?????  Do I need to find another Network provider????

Posted by
Silver Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎10-17-2003
Posts: 4,499
Message 4 of 11 (1,397 Views)

Re: adobe flash

If you go to the same link I gave in the post above yours, there is a download for Mac's. Here is a direct link:

http://fpdownload.macromedia.com/get/flashplayer/current/licensing/mac/install_flash_player_11_osx.d...

 

Basically, Apple is very anti-Flash and seems to be doing everything they can to kill it.

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎12-29-2012
Posts: 4
Message 5 of 11 (1,356 Views)

Re: adobe flash

I loaded and installed the Flash Player from your provided link.  It did not help.  I get the same message suggesting that I need an Upgrade to Mac OS 10.5 (which Apple says is current), and that Adobe Flash starting with Flash 11.1 does not support the older OS I have.

Using Finder to look at the Flash Player.plugin version installed from the link, I see that it is 10.3 r183. 

Are you sure that the link has the correct version?

Posted by
Official Employee

Member Since: ‎08-11-2011
Posts: 6,909
Message 6 of 11 (1,345 Views)

Re: adobe flash


carlson--john wrote:

I loaded and installed the Flash Player from your provided link.  It did not help.  I get the same message suggesting that I need an Upgrade to Mac OS 10.5 (which Apple says is current), and that Adobe Flash starting with Flash 11.1 does not support the older OS I have.

Using Finder to look at the Flash Player.plugin version installed from the link, I see that it is 10.3 r183. 

Are you sure that the link has the correct version?


When Flash released version 11, they decided to no longer to support Mac OS X 10.5.

 

We have updated our videos to use version 11.1 and higher to improve video playback.

 

Sorry,
Joe
XfinityTV.com/Xfinity.com Support
Twitter: @XfinityTVJoe

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎12-29-2012
Posts: 4
Message 7 of 11 (1,325 Views)

Re: adobe flash

Thanks, at least I know.  Hopefully the pop-up message changes so other people don't wonder what to do.

Posted by
Silver Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎10-18-2008
Posts: 6,747
Message 8 of 11 (1,258 Views)

Re: adobe flash

Just an FYI, 10.5 Leopard is not current, only runs on the old pre-Intel Macs.

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎12-29-2012
Posts: 4
Message 9 of 11 (1,240 Views)

Re: adobe flash

I think my next stop is the Apple store to see if I can upgrade for a slight fee.

 

Thanks.

Posted by
Silver Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎10-18-2008
Posts: 6,747
Message 10 of 11 (1,230 Views)

Re: adobe flash

If your computer can suport it, the upgrade path is this:

First, you must install Snow Leopard 10.6.8 to Access the APP store. $20.

Then you download either 10.7 Lion or 10.8 Mountain Lion. $20 either one.

Posted by
Valued Contributor

Member Since: ‎06-05-2007
Posts: 275
Message 11 of 11 (1,181 Views)

Re: adobe flash

FYI

 

I just discovered by going to adobe website there is a new version of flash. 11.5.502.146