Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,498,209

members

61

online now

1,703,902

discussions

Local News Zip Changes

Highlighted
Posted by
Frequent Visitor

Member Since: ‎01-11-2012
Posts: 8
Message 1 of 12 (1,365 Views)

Local News Zip Changes

Why does my homepage continually insist on posting local news that IS NOT for my local zip code. I edit the zip and SAVE it.  It is becoming quite annoying.

11 REPLIES
Posted by
Official Employee

Member Since: ‎08-11-2011
Posts: 6,908
Message 2 of 12 (1,351 Views)

Re: Local News Zip Changes


chuckadee wrote:

Why does my homepage continually insist on posting local news that IS NOT for my local zip code. I edit the zip and SAVE it.  It is becoming quite annoying.


What web browser are you using?

 

When is it resetting your zip code? After you close your browser? After you log out then log in? After you go to another page then come back to Xfinity.com?

 

Thanks,
Joe
XfinityTV.com/Xfinity.com Support
Twitter: @XfinityTVJoe

Posted by
Frequent Visitor

Member Since: ‎01-11-2012
Posts: 8
Message 3 of 12 (1,344 Views)

Re: Local News Zip Changes

Pretty much all of the above. I have not had this problem in the past, and I haven't changed my "habits" signing in or going to different web pages. The Xfinity home page IS my home page, so you would think it would remember me each time I return through internet explorer.  For example, I closed my browser earlier today and just now returned to find ONCE AGAIN that the local news posted for 80210 in DENVER, while I had edited to reflect 80915.  It's a minor thing, but an annoyance that doesn't endear me to Xfinity internet.

Posted by
Official Employee

Member Since: ‎08-11-2011
Posts: 6,908
Message 4 of 12 (1,339 Views)

Re: Local News Zip Changes


chuckadee wrote:

Pretty much all of the above. I have not had this problem in the past, and I haven't changed my "habits" signing in or going to different web pages. The Xfinity home page IS my home page, so you would think it would remember me each time I return through internet explorer.  For example, I closed my browser earlier today and just now returned to find ONCE AGAIN that the local news posted for 80210 in DENVER, while I had edited to reflect 80915.  It's a minor thing, but an annoyance that doesn't endear me to Xfinity internet.


Can you try another web browser and see if this behavior still occurs. This is not a permanent solution but it will help us narrow down your issue.

 

Thanks,
Joe
XfinityTV.com/Xfinity.com Support
Twitter: @XfinityTVJoe

Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎12-23-2007
Posts: 6
Message 5 of 12 (1,319 Views)

Re: Local News Zip Changes

I have the same problem.  Every time I restart Firefox it has the wrong, but nearby, zip code.  I edit it to the correct zip code (at local news) and it says the changes are saved, but they are not.  When I look at my profile, under Account & Bill I see it has the correct zip code.  My question is where do I tell it my zip code?

Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎12-23-2007
Posts: 6
Message 6 of 12 (1,317 Views)

Re: Local News Zip Changes

I should have added it happens with IE also.

Posted by
Official Employee

Member Since: ‎08-11-2011
Posts: 6,908
Message 7 of 12 (1,312 Views)

Re: Local News Zip Changes


wolmo wrote:

I have the same problem.  Every time I restart Firefox it has the wrong, but nearby, zip code.  I edit it to the correct zip code (at local news) and it says the changes are saved, but they are not.  When I look at my profile, under Account & Bill I see it has the correct zip code.  My question is where do I tell it my zip code?


Try clicking your weather near the top left of the homepage. In the dropdown, click the "Change Location" link and change your zip code there.

 

Let me know if it saves.

 

Thanks,
Joe
XfinityTV.com/Xfinity.com Support
Twitter: @XfinityTVJoe

Posted by
Silver Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎10-17-2003
Posts: 4,445
Message 8 of 12 (1,304 Views)

Re: Local News Zip Changes

By me, it changes to the zip code of the 'super-head end' (Mt. Prospect) that serves where I live.

Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎12-23-2007
Posts: 6
Message 9 of 12 (1,297 Views)

Re: Local News Zip Changes

That did it!  Thanks Joe.

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎02-26-2012
Posts: 1
Message 10 of 12 (1,236 Views)

Re: Local News Zip Changes

It only lasts till IE is started up again---really really annoying.  Why is this such a hard problem to correct.

Posted by
Silver Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎02-22-2007
Posts: 6,247
Message 11 of 12 (1,224 Views)

Re: Local News Zip Changes

Hello,

Because that info is stored as a cookie. If you delete or clear your cookies it will automatically change it to the default.

Posted by
Official Employee

Member Since: ‎08-11-2011
Posts: 6,908
Message 12 of 12 (1,204 Views)

Re: Local News Zip Changes


wedgee wrote:

It only lasts till IE is started up again---really really annoying.  Why is this such a hard problem to correct.


Try using a different web browser and let me know if it works. This is not a permanent solution but it will help us narrow down your issue.

 

Thanks,
Joe
XfinityTV.com/Xfinity.com Support
Twitter: @XfinityTVJoe