Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,597,394

members

30

online now

1,781,387

discussions

Back to Top

A question for ComcastJoe

Posted by
Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎03-11-2004
Posts: 4,618
Message 1 of 3 (1,035 Views)

A question for ComcastJoe

Regarding your assistance to surfettekw in this thread, I clicked on your link to

 

 xfinity tv com/computer. 

 

The following is part of the resulting printout..

 

My operating system:Windows - Windows NT 6.0

My web browser:Explorer 7 - Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 7.0; Windows NT 6.0; Trident/4.0; SLCC1; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; Media Center PC 5.0; .NET CLR 3.5.30729; .NET CLR 3.0.30729; .NET4.0C)

 

According the information in MY Profile, this is the information that is showing:

 

Browser used for Last VisitMozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 6.0; Trident/4.0; SLCC1; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; Media Center PC 5.0; .NET CLR 3.5.30729; .NET CLR 3.0.30729; .NET4.0C)

 

I am in fact using IE 8 and have  been for quite some time, yet internally somewhere IE 8 is not being reflected.. 

 

I have questioned the fact that IE 7 is being reflected in one of the links in Security for "amibotted", no satisfactory answers..

 

Maybe you have one for the difference in the tv profile..

 

ciao, bj

 

p.s. no difference using or not using compatibility mode

 

2 REPLIES
Posted by
Edited on
‎04-04-2012 10:16 PM

Email Expert

Member Since: ‎04-27-2004
Posts: 18,252
Message 2 of 3 (1,007 Views)

Re: A question for ComcastJoe

[ Edited ]

The Comcast site should just be displaying information sent by your browser. Here's another site that does similarly:

 

http://show-ip.net/useragent/

 

What does it show on the User-Agent line?




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Highlighted
Posted by
Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎03-11-2004
Posts: 4,618
Message 3 of 3 (994 Views)

Re: A question for ComcastJoe

Hi Barmar,

 

Thanks for the reply..  As they say a picture is worth a thousand words..

And FWIW, I checked my Windows History and the IE 8 installation is 5/1/2010.  I was curious with the inconsistencies being reflected by comcast..

 

ciao, bj