Welcome to Xfinity Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

members

topics

"Group" .vcf contacts file FAILS to transfer through COMCAST ISP!

New Poster

"Group" .vcf contacts file FAILS to transfer through COMCAST ISP!

PROBLEM (short description) > When I attempt to Email a .vcf file created on my Apple Contact app., the entire Email seems to vanish within Comcast ISP.

BACKGROUND > I have all my contacts stored in Apple Contact (version 9.0). I use Apple Contact in the office, but also rely on it as a backup and update for my mobile (Android) phone. My internet service provider is Comcast/X-Finity…. which btw, I’m 99% sure is the cause of my problem!   

NOTE… I have been doing the following procedure for several years WITHOUT any problems… until just recently… something I believe has changed within Comcast ISP. 

THIS IS HOW IT SHOULD GO > Using the Contact app., I export a “group” .vcf file (less than 100 kb) that may contain perhaps 200 individual contacts which includes all related info (phone #, addresses, etc.). I then simply Email to myself this file, which I then could download this Email with the .vcf file onto my Android phone. Opening this file updates all my contacts automatically on my Android phone.  

Needless to say, this used to be a very efficient and easy method to update and backup all my phone contacts.  I’m sure many others do it this way… I can’t imagine anything better, especially if I ever lost or damaged my mobile phone.

BUT NOW… Just in the last 6 month I’ve been having a very strange problem that I can’t solve.  When I send the Email with the attached group .vcf file, it appears to simply vanish. My computer says it’s sent, but I can’t retrieve it on either on my computer at home or my mobile phone!