Welcome to Xfinity Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

members

topics

POP3 E-Mail Gone Forever???? Well, Maybe Not (Yet)...

ANSWERED
Contributor

POP3 E-Mail Gone Forever???? Well, Maybe Not (Yet)...

The Comcast e-mail server (POP3, which I have been using for many years) has become more and more unreliable over the past few months. Today I am told that Comcast ("Xfinity") no longer supports POP3 email because "Port 425 is closed" and that I must convert my e-mail software from POP to IMAP. I had received no notice whatsoever about this disruption, nor has any agent I have called recently told me anything except that "our POP3 server is temporarily down and we are working on the problem." Furthermore I am told that Comcast has no Help page that explains how to do this conversion for the most popular e-mail software in the world. Does anyone have an explanation, advice, or a step-by-step? -- JCW17
Accepted Solution

Re: POP3 E-Mail Gone Forever???? Well, Maybe Not (Yet)...

POP3 is currently supported and there is no official plan to phase out POP3. Comcast does prefer IMAP as it is a more robust solution on many levels. For the large majority of our customers who now, more than ever, use multiple devices IMAP provides a superior experience.

View answer in context
Tags (3)
Contributor

Re: POP3 E-Mail Gone Forever????