Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

members

topics

IMAP

New Poster

IMAP

Two questions about changing from POP to IMAP:

1) Do I need to add this new account on each device from which I use email? I think the answer is yes; just want to be sure.

2) How do I copy email and folders from POP to IMAP, as the instructions tell you to do? (Sub-question - do I need to do that on each device also?)

Thanks

Email Expert

Re: IMAP

I don't know what "instructions" you saw, but when you configure the account on each device, they will auto-detect any folders you have set up and they should all show up on each one.  And yes, you need to congfigure the account on each device with the IMAP settings.

Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark a Best Answer!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark an Answer!solution Icon

Frequent Visitor

How long is IMAP email retained?  I ask because I have been using the POP approach to download my email to my PC where it is permanently stored. Will IMAP email have the same retention? 

A related question is if I decide to keep my POP account open, can I choose the POP setting in my client email software (OUTLOOK 365) to NOT leave the mail on the server?   Or do I need to leave it on the server to be used by the IMAP approach.

Thanks for the assistance.

Timmer

Email Expert