Welcome to Xfinity Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

members

topics

Deleting a large backlog of e mails

Regular Visitor

Deleting a large backlog of e mails

Is there an easy way do delete a large backlog (40,000+) of e mails?

Thank you.
Tags (1)
Email Expert

Re: Deleting a large backlog of e mails

Did you try what was suggested by me earlier today in response to the same question?-----------

http://forums.comcast.com/t5/E-Mail-and-Xfinity-Connect-Help/Auto-delete-of-e-mail/m-p/2505567#M2870...

Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark a Best Answer!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark an Answer!solution Icon

Regular Visitor

I set the auto delete time to 120 days (it had been on "never delete)". I then exited e mail and powered off the computer. I powered back up and went back into e mail and still have >40,000. Any other ideas?

Thank you immensely for your help (by the way, my last first name is not HillarySmiley Happy ).
Email Expert

Comcast webmail doesn't have any ability to empty the Inbox or Sent folders all at once.  You can check the little box at the top left side of the message list to select all messages, and delete them, but it only goes so far back and then the next group of visible emails comes into view, and you have to keep repeating. (I think it will select 100 at a time, not sure)