Welcome to Xfinity Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

members

topics

Copying email mailboxes

Regular Visitor

Copying email mailboxes

I have created several mailboxes to save important emails.  I would like to copy them so that they could be moved to a different computer.  How do I do so?

Email Expert

Re: Copying email mailboxes

You need to enable the account in a desktop email client like Outlook, Windows Live Mail, Mac Mail etc. using IMAP settings on the new computer.  That way your folders in the webmail account will be duplicated in the client.

Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark a Best Answer!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark an Answer!solution Icon

Regular Visitor

Thanks for your attention to this matter.

I did as you suggested but only a few mailboxes showed up.  I was under the impression that created mailboxes (for saving important emails) were saved on the computer in question.  What I'm looking for is the folder that contains these files so that I can copy them and then move them to a new computer so that they will be available when I use the email on the new computer.  I'm using a Mac desktop now and that is where the mailboxes in question currently reside.  Any ideas?

Email Expert