Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

members

online now

discussions

Using computer as phone/fax

Frequent Visitor

Using computer as phone/fax

I have not seen any information on using my computer to make or answer calls using a mike and speakers, or sending /receiving faxes.  Is this possible with CDV and if so is there any instruction on how to set it up?
Thanks, Rich
Email Expert

Re: Using computer as phone/fax

As far as CDV is concerned, your PC is just a phone or fax machine. And as far as the PC is concerned, CDV is just an ordinary phone line.

So it should work fine. Connect the computer's to CDV exactly the same way you would connect it to a regular phone line.

Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.

Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon

Frequent Visitor

Thanks Barmar!  Are there some software packages used to acomplish this?  I have tried Googling a couple of things but mostly get Voip hits.
Email Expert

I assumed you already had this working with your regular phone line, and just wanted to know what you had to change now that you'd switched to CDV.

If not, then you're probably best off using Internet-based solutions, such as Skype for voice and eFax.com for faxing.

Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!