Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

members

online now

discussions

Question about the stand-by button?

Contributor

Question about the stand-by button?

This question may seem more than obvious but I just don't know the answer.
Ok here goes: I am one of those folks who turns their computer off every nite and back on every day. Since getting Comcast Digital Voice with the new telephony modem that must be left on 24/7, Can I hit the stand-by button to disconnect from the internet? Sorry, I'm new to CDV and just wanted to know.
Thanks.
Valued Contributor

Re: Question about the stand-by button?

If you phone modem has a stand by button you may use and it will shut off just the internet.  Almost all EMTA's now dont even have one or it is disabled.
Contributor

Thanks, stonecold..... I'm going to try it tonite.

(For what it's worth, just wanted to let you know that the stand-by button wasn't disabled and worked fine)

Message Edited by oobydooby on 10-20-2007 06:26 AM
Email Expert

If you turn off your computer, why do you need use the modem's Standby button?

Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.

Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon

Contributor

Barmar wrote:
If you turn off your computer, why do you need use the modem's Standby button?